Reviews / Audio

Hands-on Review

The Korg Monotron Duo and Monotron Delay are part of the purely analog Monotron synthesizer series. The Monotron Duo provides two analog oscillators with individual tunings, the exciting X-MOD circuit with an Intensity knob and ribbon controller keyboard with Scale Select.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The landscape of available MIDI controllers is crowded with plastic products that are mass produced to appeal to a broad and unfocused range of users, and the components used in these products are often compromised in order to price the products competitively.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

If you use Sony MDR-7506, V6, or Audio Technica M-30 headphones, then we have some very good news! The new Pearstone Deluxe Earpads are now available, and they do nothing short of making your current headphones vastly better than they already were. They’re called “deluxe” because they have soft velour pads and a smoother foam-backed surface that covers the headphone driver. The result is a simple upgrade that makes your headphones far more comfortable.

3
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

In January of 2009, I made the token New Year's resolution to start exercising regularly. I kicked things off in late May. Instead of signing up for a gym membership, I bought a high-tech pair of sneakers and forced myself to run. It can be very difficult to motivate yourself to work out, but with a properly designed set of sports headphones, exercising opens up a unique and immersive musical experience.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

Can a modern product like SSL’s X-Desk really compare with their classic large format consoles? If so, you may finally be able to mix through the same mix bus as the many of the best engineers in the world.  I put the X-Desk’s summing to the test against the 9000J, and also did some serious thinking about this seemingly stripped down mixer.  I’ll do my best to provide an accurate summary of its analog summing.

4
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

A lot of music is being made these days in bedrooms, living rooms, and garages. The sound quality you can achieve with minimal equipment is amazing, but the neutrality of your studio monitors is anything but. Treating a room properly for accurate monitoring isn't easy, but IK Multimedia's ARC promises to remedy this issue. I gave the ARC a test drive in my home studio, and was really surprised at how deeply flawed my system was, and how deeply afraid my cat became.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

Modern television is filled with shows about high-tech crime investigators, and the detectives in these shows almost always use touch screen computers. Often times their futuristic computers take the form of a large glass wall in the center of the room, where at the touch of a finger an officer can instantly display a suspect’s file. The entertainment world is fixated on predicting what touch screen technology will look like and how it will operate, even though it’s already here. Since 2007, gadgets like the iPod Touch have revolutionized how human beings interact with electronics.

12
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The MicroBook from MOTU is a pocket-sized audio interface with four balanced 1/4" inputs and two balanced 1/4" outputs, microphone preamp, phantom power and digital output.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The PX-3 combines authentic hammer-action keyboard feel and solid sounds in a stage piano. Loaded with features you’d usually find in more expensive digital stage pianos, it’s a great value.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The Rode VideoMic Pro Shotgun microphone delivers quality sound in a compact size that's a great fit for HDSLR users. In addition, the mic's +20dB option can render less noise in HDSLR shooters' audio recordings, if their camera has manual audio control.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

We all know who the big dogs are in the DAW world, and most of us can admit that for years there has been a virtual monopoly in the world of DAWs—doing as much to hinder the progress of DAWs as it has to establish a standard. As more and more great music is produced in project studios—users are opening their minds to new software and hardware options.  PreSonus has made a name for itself making project-studio-ready hardware that compromises little quality in the name of affordability. When I learned that PreSonus was behind Studio One Pro and Studio One Artist—the newest competitor in the DAW market—my skepticism was reduced.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

In today's crowded field of portable digital audio recorders (Tascam alone has seven different models on the market), the new DR-680 has managed to carve out an impressive niche for itself. It's currently the most affordable battery-powered field recorder that's capable of recording six separate microphone inputs onto their own individual track. That's big news for anyone on a tight budget who's involved with producing reality television, live music recordings, or any job where numerous microphones need to be recorded discretely. There are other portable recorders on the market that can accomplish these tasks, but the closest competitor costs over three times as much. This machine has rewritten the rules of what is and what is not possible on a strict location audio budget.

3
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

Here are four audio products that make great gifts: a DJ controller, an electronic drum kit, a home recording kit and a cassette-to-MP3 converter.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The M-Audio Axiom 25 features a two-octave keyboard, encoder knobs, Mixer and Instrument modes, a Zone feature and Direct Link software.

1
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

Over the last few years here at B&H, I've done my fair share of hands-on headphone reviews. However, I haven't really spent much time looking at the wireless options that are available. To be honest, I've never really had a great experience with various wireless headphones in the past. Recently, I took 3 offerings from Sennheiser for a spin and let me just say, I may be a wireless convert from here on out.

7
Share
2 years ago

Pages