Reviews / Audio

Hands-on Review

Can a modern product like SSL’s X-Desk really compare with their classic large format consoles? If so, you may finally be able to mix through the same mix bus as the many of the best engineers in the world.  I put the X-Desk’s summing to the test against the 9000J, and also did some serious thinking about this seemingly stripped down mixer.  I’ll do my best to provide an accurate summary of its analog summing.

4
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

A lot of music is being made these days in bedrooms, living rooms, and garages. The sound quality you can achieve with minimal equipment is amazing, but the neutrality of your studio monitors is anything but. Treating a room properly for accurate monitoring isn't easy, but IK Multimedia's ARC promises to remedy this issue. I gave the ARC a test drive in my home studio, and was really surprised at how deeply flawed my system was, and how deeply afraid my cat became.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

Modern television is filled with shows about high-tech crime investigators, and the detectives in these shows almost always use touch screen computers. Often times their futuristic computers take the form of a large glass wall in the center of the room, where at the touch of a finger an officer can instantly display a suspect’s file. The entertainment world is fixated on predicting what touch screen technology will look like and how it will operate, even though it’s already here. Since 2007, gadgets like the iPod Touch have revolutionized how human beings interact with electronics.

12
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The MicroBook from MOTU is a pocket-sized audio interface with four balanced 1/4" inputs and two balanced 1/4" outputs, microphone preamp, phantom power and digital output.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The PX-3 combines authentic hammer-action keyboard feel and solid sounds in a stage piano. Loaded with features you’d usually find in more expensive digital stage pianos, it’s a great value.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The Rode VideoMic Pro Shotgun microphone delivers quality sound in a compact size that's a great fit for HDSLR users. In addition, the mic's +20dB option can render less noise in HDSLR shooters' audio recordings, if their camera has manual audio control.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

We all know who the big dogs are in the DAW world, and most of us can admit that for years there has been a virtual monopoly in the world of DAWs—doing as much to hinder the progress of DAWs as it has to establish a standard. As more and more great music is produced in project studios—users are opening their minds to new software and hardware options.  PreSonus has made a name for itself making project-studio-ready hardware that compromises little quality in the name of affordability. When I learned that PreSonus was behind Studio One Pro and Studio One Artist—the newest competitor in the DAW market—my skepticism was reduced.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

There are many options in the portable digital recorder market today, but there aren't too many choices that promise a solidly built device designed specifically for broadcast professionals. One such recorder is the Marantz PMD661, and it's packed with many useful features that may not be immediately apparent. In this post I'll take a closer look at the PMD661, and point out a few key features that make this unit such a good choice for field recording.

2
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

In today's crowded field of portable digital audio recorders (Tascam alone has seven different models on the market), the new DR-680 has managed to carve out an impressive niche for itself. It's currently the most affordable battery-powered field recorder that's capable of recording six separate microphone inputs onto their own individual track. That's big news for anyone on a tight budget who's involved with producing reality television, live music recordings, or any job where numerous microphones need to be recorded discretely. There are other portable recorders on the market that can accomplish these tasks, but the closest competitor costs over three times as much. This machine has rewritten the rules of what is and what is not possible on a strict location audio budget.

3
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

Here are four audio products that make great gifts: a DJ controller, an electronic drum kit, a home recording kit and a cassette-to-MP3 converter.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The M-Audio Axiom 25 features a two-octave keyboard, encoder knobs, Mixer and Instrument modes, a Zone feature and Direct Link software.

1
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

Over the last few years here at B&H, I've done my fair share of hands-on headphone reviews. However, I haven't really spent much time looking at the wireless options that are available. To be honest, I've never really had a great experience with various wireless headphones in the past. Recently, I took 3 offerings from Sennheiser for a spin and let me just say, I may be a wireless convert from here on out.

7
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The ONE USB audio interface brings Apogee quality sound and a built-in condenser mic to the Mac platform, at a great price point. The ONE is a great solution for home or project studios, or for portable recording applications.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

The Duet FireWire audio interface brings Apogee high-quality converters to the Mac platform in a sleek, portable form factor.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

With three virtual synth engines and numerous sliders, buttons and knobs, the Gaia SH-01 Virtual Analog Synthesizer puts the fun back into musical effects and sound programming.

0
Share
2 years ago

Pages