Reviews / Photography

Hands-on Review

Panasonic has recently introduced two new members to their Lumix line of digital cameras: the GH3 and the LX7. Both of the cameras are successors to previous models, the GH2 and the LX5 respectively, and improve upon such with faster performance and a refinement of the already impressive features.

0
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

The writing staff at B&H collectively produced more than 120 holiday articles in late 2012, and the information they contain is still incredibly useful, even though the decorations have come down and many gifts have been exchanged.

0
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

When I first laid eyes on the large black ballistic sling case containing the new Nikkor AF-S 200-400/4G ED IF VR II, that little voice in the back of my head started jabbing at me: "You really gonna lug that thing around all day… in this heat… are you nuts?"

43
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

Sometimes great ideas don't always pan out. This post is one of them. What I proposed to management was testing Sony's new waterproof and shockproof digicam- the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX5 - while shooting the rapids of the Colorado River. And would you believe it... they shot me down. Trooper that I am, I dusted off my pride and set out for the alternative wilds of Hackelbarny State Park, where I proceeded to put Sony's latest honey through its paces.

20
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

Everybody loves the smell of a new car, so much so you can 'bring back the love' with a shpritz or two of 'Au du Pee V'cee', which is available in 16 oz spray cans at your local car wash (the generics are reportedly just as good). Not so the look and finish of your camera gear. As spotless as they are out of the box, over time cameras, lenses, and tripods start showing the scuffs and ding-marks that inevitably come along with using your gear. And while you can't roll back the clock with anything sprayed out of a can, LensCoats offer a great measure of protection and functionality in a smart lineup of products.

1
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

Admittedly, it seems that this year’s CES breakout products were more about big tablets, smart TVs and gaming, but a few standout cameras and camcorders were introduced last week that will most likely be hot items in the year to come and, for camcorders, might even signal a path for a new marketing niche.

0
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

The Canon Powershot SD4500 IS Digital ELPH with a 10-Megapixel CMOS sensor is sensitive from ISO 125 to 3200 using Canon’s newest digital imaging core, the DIGIC 4 processor. This camera will shoot from 15 seconds to 1 4000th of a second, and it has an F/3.4, 10x Canon Zoom lens.

0
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

Let's explore the Canon Powershot A3300 IS, a point-and-shoot camera with a new Discreet shooting mode. The A3300 IS has a 5x zoom Canon lens and a 16MP sensor that is sensitive to 6400 ISO. Notably, this is the first A-series Canon camera to offer 720p HD video.

0
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

In this B&H Video, Larry Becker walks us through some of the features of the Sony SLT-A99 digital camera. The flagship full-frame camera from Sony, the A99 is a 24.3MP gem that creates high resolution, low-noise photos and shoots Full HD 1080p video at 60 frames per second.

0
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

Larry Becker reviews the new Nikon 1 J2 mirrorless digital camera in this video from B&H. Becker demonstrates a few of the J2’s new features and highlights some of the notable upgrades from the camera’s predecessor, the Nikon 1 J1.

0
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

Impact has recently introduced a full line of beauty dish reflectors and accessories to help control the light output of a studio strobe unit. These tools are compatible with a wide array of studio strobe lights and each piece is modular to enable use of the same beauty dish with a variety of different lights.

2
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

Before talking about a number of tools, tables and accessories that will improve your tethered photography, let’s just be clear about what we mean by tethered photography. Of course, like so many things, it’s not as complicated as it might seem.

11
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

If you’re looking to purchase a camera this holiday season, you probably have a lot of questions. Do I buy a DSLR? How about a compact point-and-shoot?  Why don’t I stick with my smartphone? And what is a pixel and why is it mega?

0
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

2012 has played host to numerous camera and lens announcements, many of which are improvements over past products, while others are entirely new designs full of intrigue. The main innovative duty of lenses is to keep up with the cameras themselves and to capture greater detail and information.

0
Share
1 year ago
Hands-on Review

With 2012 drawing to a close, let’s take a few paragraphs to mention some of the more notable cameras and photographic accessories that debuted in 2012. Not simply new items, but products that really impressed our customers and/or blazed a new path for their specific company or for photo technology in general.

8
Share
1 year ago

Pages