Reviews / Photography

Hands on Review

Lowel’s Rifa Lites have long been popular lighting tools for photographers who need or desire a continuous light source that produces a soft, flattering light and folds down narrow enough to slip into a tube for fast and easy transit to and from assignments.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

The Lowel SoftCore Lighting Systemis designed to turn any softbox you might currently own into a cool-running, fluorescent lamp based lighting system containing up to five 80W CRI fluorescent lamps. 

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

If the nature of your photographic work requires swaths of even, continuous light, Lowel’s TRIO 1 is well worth investigating. Designed for use with your choice of 55W high CRI, daylight- or tungsten-balanced fluorescent lamps, Lowel’s TRIO 1 lamp heads are well suited for portraiture and mid-sized tabletop applications.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

Maintaining clean color balance when shooting stills and video in mixed lighting has long been problematic in portraiture, fashion, beauty and textile applications. But with the introduction of the Lowel Blender, maintaining color balance is easy.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

The number of fast, wide-aperture prime optics we carry at B&H has grown over the past year, and in a world that has become increasingly populated by slower, variable aperture zooms, this is encouraging news.

21
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

When you read the selling points of professional-grade cameras such as Canon’s 1D series and Nikon’s D3 series, the manufacturers make a point of discussing the heavy-duty construction and exhaustive measures of weatherproofing that go into their respective cameras.

13
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

There’s something inherently seductive about a compact camera with a fast, fixed, wide-angle lens and a top ISO of 3200, especially if you’ve got a thing for low-light street shooting or taking pictures in places where tripods and flash are frowned upon or downright prohibited.

7
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

Of all the square and rectangular filter systems available these days, probably the best known is the Cokin Creative System. Launched in France by photographer Jean Coquin in 1972, Cokin’s reputation stretches around the world.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

 For those of you who follow me on Twitter, you'll know I received the Canon 35mm F/1.4 L lens last week. And Oh! My! Goodness! I nearly died from excitement. I've been waiting for this lens f.o.r.e.v.e.r but wanted to make sure it fit into my style and aesthetic. I used it for the first time at Meg+Tim's wedding and I loved it. L o v v v v e d  i t !  I causally joked it'd take the place of my 50mm F/1.2 L, but I'm happy to report I'm still sticking to the 50mm as my all-time favorite lens.

 

14
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

If you’ve ever tried to photograph lightning or similar now-you-see-it-now-you-don’t phenomena, you’re well aware of how difficult an undertaking it can be. Lightning strikes without warning and nary a hint as to where in the skies it will appear and in what form—and by the time you see it, it’s invariably gone.

4
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

When it comes to camera bags, there’s a seemingly unlimited choice of styles, shapes and colors designed to satisfy the needs of the pickiest beginner, hobbyist or professional photographer. If you can think it, it probably already exists in a form quite close to what you imagine it to be.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

Manfrotto’s Stile Collection of camera/computer cases, bags and pouches are constructed from lightweight, weather-resistant nylon and are designed to complement active, on-the-go lifestyles.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

Field jackets designed for photographers are nothing new, but then again, nobody has ever designed a field jacket that matches the look, detail and real world user design aspects of Manfrotto’s Lino PRO Field Jacket.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

Even though almost all cameras have built-in flashes, sometimes you want or need additional light power in order to capture a better photograph. Rather than adding an extra accessory flash, many photographers have been turning to LED light panels.

0
Share
2 years ago
Hands on Review

Designed with everyday users in mind, Manfrotto’s all metal MK390-series tripods are lightweight, sturdy tripods designed for use with compact digital cameras, super zooms, camcorders and compact DSLR systems. 

0
Share
2 years ago

Pages