Reviews / Photography

Hands-on Review

There’s something inherently seductive about a compact camera with a fast, fixed, wide-angle lens and a top ISO of 3200, especially if you’ve got a thing for low-light street shooting or taking pictures in places where tripods and flash are frowned upon or downright prohibited.

3
Share
2 years ago
Hands-on Review

Of all the square and rectangular filter systems available these days, probably the best known is the Cokin Creative System. Launched in France by photographer Jean Coquin in 1972, Cokin’s reputation stretches around the world.

2
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

 For those of you who follow me on Twitter, you'll know I received the Canon 35mm F/1.4 L lens last week. And Oh! My! Goodness! I nearly died from excitement. I've been waiting for this lens f.o.r.e.v.e.r but wanted to make sure it fit into my style and aesthetic. I used it for the first time at Meg+Tim's wedding and I loved it. L o v v v v e d  i t !  I causally joked it'd take the place of my 50mm F/1.2 L, but I'm happy to report I'm still sticking to the 50mm as my all-time favorite lens.

 

14
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

If you’ve ever tried to photograph lightning or similar now-you-see-it-now-you-don’t phenomena, you’re well aware of how difficult an undertaking it can be. Lightning strikes without warning and nary a hint as to where in the skies it will appear and in what form—and by the time you see it, it’s invariably gone.

3
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

When it comes to camera bags, there’s a seemingly unlimited choice of styles, shapes and colors designed to satisfy the needs of the pickiest beginner, hobbyist or professional photographer. If you can think it, it probably already exists in a form quite close to what you imagine it to be.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Manfrotto’s Stile Collection of camera/computer cases, bags and pouches are constructed from lightweight, weather-resistant nylon and are designed to complement active, on-the-go lifestyles.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Field jackets designed for photographers are nothing new, but then again, nobody has ever designed a field jacket that matches the look, detail and real world user design aspects of Manfrotto’s Lino PRO Field Jacket.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Even though almost all cameras have built-in flashes, sometimes you want or need additional light power in order to capture a better photograph. Rather than adding an extra accessory flash, many photographers have been turning to LED light panels.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Designed with everyday users in mind, Manfrotto’s all metal MK390-series tripods are lightweight, sturdy tripods designed for use with compact digital cameras, super zooms, camcorders and compact DSLR systems. 

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

There comes a time in every newbie photographer’s life when they need a camera support that goes beyond the limitations of Lego™-like tablepods, and that’s where Manfrotto’s new 290-series Hobbyist tripods come into the picture.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

LED (Light-Emitting Diodes) accessory lights for digital cameras are becoming increasingly popular as an alternative to electronic flash for adding auxiliary light to low lighting conditions. The benefits of continuous LED lighting include cool operating temperatures and low power consumption. 

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Manfrotto’s ML360HP Midi Plus-36 and ML840H Maxima-84 Hybrid LED light panels should prove to be quite popular among professional photographers who require compact, low heat, low power consuming, daylight-balanced lighting accessories that can be used as stand-alone units or in conjunction with outdoor light and electronic flash.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Featuring lightweight carbon fiber legs, a choice of rapid or geared columns, and a new ground-leveling system, Manfrotto’s MT057 Series tripods have the qualities and features working pros expect and demand from their camera-support systems. Manfrotto MT057 series tripods are available in three-section and four-section models.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

A follow focus gives you more precise focus control and easy repeatability when using a DSLR to shoot video. iDC Photo Video makes follow focuses for various DSLRs including the Canon 60D, Canon 7D, Canon 5D Mark II and Nikon D7000, along with viewfinders, accessory brackets, other various accessories and complete follow-focus kits for select cameras.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Color management in digital photography is the supervision of color from input to output. A camera captures color, a monitor displays this color accurately and a printer outputs what's on the screen. Seem simple? Guess again.

0
Share
3 years ago

Pages