Reviews / Video

Hands on Review

With manufacturers splitting their camcorders between ones sporting optical zoom lenses, memory card slots and removable batteries, and pocket models with digital zoom, internal memory and embedded batteries, Sony has expanded its choices in the latter category with the introduction of four Bloggie Touch cameras.

2
Share
3 years ago
Hands on Review

The first creature to crawl out of the primordial ooze onto dry land probably wasn’t much to look at, but I doubt anyone will disagree that those first few steps were a landmark event that opened the door to future evolution.

2
Share
3 years ago
Hands on Review

It’s difficult to hold a camcorder while, say, climbing up a sheer face in Yosemite. But there are many camcorders on the market that allow hands-free operation.

0
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

The Pearstone SADC-711Just about everyone on the planet is familiar with clapper slates, but few people understand why they're used on set. Now that video-enabled DSLR cameras are at the top of many people's wish lists, the need for clapper slates has never been greater. In this post I'll test out the Pearstone SADC-711 clapboard slate, and let you know why it's an essential item for any serious video shoot. Lights, camera, blog post!

3
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

Today's competitive market has proven to be a boon for the consumer, since companies like Canon, have been outdoing themselves in improving their products and offering innovations and advanced options in their professional and prosumer line. Today we will talk about the Canon XH-A1s, a compact high definition camera with professional quality, sleek design and important additions from the successful XH-A1.

0
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

You gotta' love the rapid pace at which technology is advancing. Prosumer video cameras today can be even better than some of the professional cameras of only a few years ago, and the line between prosumer and professional keeps blurring more and more each year.  Judging by the upcoming Sony HDR-AX2000 prosumer video camera, the accelerated pace of technological advancement shows no sign of slowing.

2
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

Traveling with precision camera tools has long been a game of seeing how far one can press airport limits without pushing one-button-too-many of the person behind the ticket counter. Ever tighter carry-on allowances and skyrocketing checked baggage fees have made matters worse. And do you really want to wave bye-bye to your precious gear as it's carted off to a Samsonite version of hell?

2
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

When I was a younger lad I shot a movie for which I elected to pursue using a Steadicam instead of tracks and dollies. In an effort to reduce setup times from location to location, the production team felt it was the right way to go. Upon doing some research I soon discovered that Steadicams were slightly out of my price range. So, I turned my attention to the Glide cam V-16 and eventually was able to get my hands on one.

1
Share
By Kyle Doris |
4 years ago
Hands on Review

But let's review the similarities. In our hands-on look at the HDR-FX1000, we noted all the great new features and improvements Sony brought to its replacement of the prosumer HDR-FX1. Those same upgrades apply to the HVR-Z5U, which we were also lucky enough to spend some face-time with prior to its official December release.

0
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

Abaltat Muse is a remarkable new way to generate 100% royalty free music. It's time to stop looking for your royalty free cds, over paying for copy righted music and dealing with music that doesn't match your movie. Just drag and drop a quicktime file on the Muse icon and let it become your orchestra. The multitrack composition will be perfectly timed and aligned to your video. It will review your movie based on color and compose your next musical score.

0
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

This week may mark the turning point of which suite of products that editors and their counterparts may seriously consider to be the centerpiece of a post production studio. After almost eighteen months since the last release, Adobe is now shipping CS4. Every facet of the Adobe's suite of software products is getting an upgrade.

1
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

Let's say you've just landed a gig that requires a three-week long trip to Guatemala, documenting some magnificent Mayan ruins. How about we up the ante just a bit? Your deadline is 6 weeks away! Uh-oh. Time appears to be tight and you've got to gear up and make a plan, pronto. In fact, it looks like you'll have to start editing on location. Fortunately, you have a few options:

0
Share
By Kyle Doris |
4 years ago
Hands on Review

Traveling with precision camera tools has long been a game of seeing how far one can press airport limits without pushing one button too many of the person behind the ticket counter. Ever tighter carry-on allowances and skyrocketing checked baggage fees have made matters worse.

0
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

It's been more than 10 years since Apple brought its first version of Final Cut Pro to market. In that time, the professional, nonlinear video application has seen many improvements and features added. With each subsequent release, the software has offered greater stability, reliability, and productivity in the ever changing moving-image space. 

0
Share
4 years ago
Hands on Review

Easy to operate ultra-compact camcorders are really stealing the show these days, and Sony's new higher end HDR-TG5V high definition Handycam is an impressive little performer for those interested in the concentrated form factor but wanting a little more oomph. Marketed for the chic traveler, its lightweight design and clean look combined with enhanced features such as Geotagging and 16GB embedded flash memory make it a great option. 

0
Share
5 years ago

Pages