Reviews

Hands-on Review

Maintaining clean color balance when shooting stills and video in mixed lighting has long been problematic in portraiture, fashion, beauty and textile applications. But with the introduction of the Lowel Blender, maintaining color balance is easy.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

The number of fast, wide-aperture prime optics we carry at B&H has grown over the past year, and in a world that has become increasingly populated by slower, variable aperture zooms, this is encouraging news.

19
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Recently, I wrote a review about the Beats Studio and Beats Tour around-ear and in-ear headphones from Monster and Dr. Dre. Well, the Renaissance doc has teamed up with the sound monsters again to bring you an on-ear headphone called the Beats Solo (left). There's also a new artist in town, whose in-ear headphones might just make your HeartBeats go Gaga. Let's plug in and see how

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

When you read the selling points of professional-grade cameras such as Canon’s 1D series and Nikon’s D3 series, the manufacturers make a point of discussing the heavy-duty construction and exhaustive measures of weatherproofing that go into their respective cameras.

19
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

The space-saving Bose® CineMate® 1 SR Home Theater Speaker System should appeal to apartment dwellers yearning to immerse themselves in TV surround sound without fretting over where to put five or more speakers. The centerpiece of the system is a 37-inch long soundbar that Bose refers to as a “speaker array.”

12
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Relying on the tiny speaker embedded in your smartphone or handheld player is an underwhelming experience at best; an effort in futility at worst. Don’t even try using it to share the musical delight when it’s noisy inside or out, or expect much satisfaction even for yourself when setting the device down to provide a sound track as you attempt to labor, unfettered by earphones.

6
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

There’s something inherently seductive about a compact camera with a fast, fixed, wide-angle lens and a top ISO of 3200, especially if you’ve got a thing for low-light street shooting or taking pictures in places where tripods and flash are frowned upon or downright prohibited.

3
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

I haven’t had a working cassette player in my home for nearly a decade, but I still have a couple shoeboxes filled with old tapes in the back of my closet. I could never bring myself to get rid of them. I’ve developed a deep psychological bond with the little things...  What does the future hold for the cassettes trapped inside the shoeboxes in my closet?

6
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Panasonic has begun shipping a home-targeted Full HD 3D projector that integrates cutting-edge capabilities with a proven projection technology to create breathtaking motion pictures—at an unprecedented price. 

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

It’s easy enough to design a rugged, stable notebook computer with plenty of processing power; witness the hundreds of models that are available. It’s much more difficult, however, to design a notebook computer that’s both powerful and beautiful to behold.

1
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Dr. Dre, one of the world’s most influential hip-hop artists and producers, teamed up with the good folks over at Monster to create high quality, stylish headphones specifically designed to take advantage of the painstaking detail that goes into the music of today's digital artists.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

If local area networks (LANs) were like plumbing, then Ethernet cables would be the pipes and routers the valve switchers. But data bits have a huge advantage over fluids. They don't require conduits to flow through your home or office to still be useful. 

3
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

If your old wireless router is causing problems, slowing down, is insecure or hard to manage, or if you’ve never had a wireless router before, then now is a good time to invest in a cutting-edge solution. The Linksys E4200 Dual-Band N Router is fast, secure, easy to set up and easy to manage.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Of all the square and rectangular filter systems available these days, probably the best known is the Cokin Creative System. Launched in France by photographer Jean Coquin in 1972, Cokin’s reputation stretches around the world.

4
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

 For those of you who follow me on Twitter, you'll know I received the Canon 35mm F/1.4 L lens last week. And Oh! My! Goodness! I nearly died from excitement. I've been waiting for this lens f.o.r.e.v.e.r but wanted to make sure it fit into my style and aesthetic. I used it for the first time at Meg+Tim's wedding and I loved it. L o v v v v e d  i t !  I causally joked it'd take the place of my 50mm F/1.2 L, but I'm happy to report I'm still sticking to the 50mm as my all-time favorite lens.

 

14
Share
3 years ago

Pages