Reviews

Hands-on Review

If you’re a musician or a producer who uses (or is considering using) an Apple iPad in your creative process, one of the most interesting accessories out there for recording and performing music is the Alesis iO Dock.

5
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Today’s digital audio workstation software arms you with unthinkably powerful editing and routing capabilities, but what really makes your mixes shine are third party plug-ins that run within the host application. When it comes time to decide which plug-ins suit you best, it’s important to ask yourself two questions:

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Swarovski Optik has just announced two new CL Companion binoculars, a 10x model and an 8x model. Designed for crisp imagery in a lightweight and highly portable package, the CL Companion binoculars easily find the mark.

7
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Zoom has announced the latest addition to its highly regarded line of portable digital recorders, the new H2n. It's a big deal because this model is an update to the Zoom H2, which has been one of the most popular portable recorders ever.

23
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

When you’ve been building ever-improving variations of the same basic camera for more than 50 years, some new models are not as earth shattering as others.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Some professional camcorders can cost an arm and a leg. Sony’s PMW-F3 falls into that category. Fortunately, manufacturers realize that not everyone can afford to part with an arm and a leg, so they find ways to offer products with similar feature sets to the pro cameras, but which can be had for just an arm.

6
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Don’t you just love it when the forecast calls for sunshine and blue skies with a 42% chance that it will be rainy and miserable? When the day’s weather promises to be schizophrenic at best, photographers have some serious decisions to make.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Since the release of the original Olympus Pen cameras about two years back, there’s been a growing interest in Four Third and Micro Four Third format mirrorless cameras, based on the promise of DSLR image quality in a smaller, lighter package.

 
2
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Spring is in full swing and summer will come and go before you know it, so be sure to enjoy the nice weather while you can. The warmer weather lures people outdoors, and the longer daylight hours keep them outside longer.

1
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Shooting video with DSLRs, or HDSLRs to be specific, is gaining popularity with photographers and filmmakers. One reason is that HDSLRs can shoot some pretty amazing video. Many photographers buy an HDSLR to shoot stills and then fall in love with the camera’s video capabilities once they discover them.

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

If you were expecting Windows on the new HP TouchPad, guess again. What distinguishes this sleek multi-touch tablet is that it’s neither an Android or iOS device. Instead, it’s HP’s first webOS tablet. 

0
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Road-testing a new DSLR is always a blast, especially when the improvements go beyond a new paint Canon's EOS 5D Mark IIjob and racing stripes. Canon's new EOS 5D Mark II, a 2nd generation 5D-series digicam, delivers a host of improvements along with the ability to shoot Hi-Def video with sound, which made the road-test experience a total blast-and-a-half.

Having logged many hours with the original EOS 5D, I was especially eager to shoot with its replacement. What surprised me most was the extent to which I became enamored with the newbie's video feature, but more on that later.

21.1Mp 24x36mm CMOS Sensor

1
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Wouldn’t it be great if you could have a digital camera with interchangeable lenses that takes pictures as good as those captured by a DSLR, but also something no bigger than a point and shoot? The simple answer is that it would be great—and the fact is that you can purchase such a camera.

8
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

There’s a wide range of workflows in today’s production world, and the new Sound Devices MixPre-D is a versatile piece of equipment that will flow with the many different kinds of work.

29
Share
3 years ago
Hands-on Review

Let me start by saying I am not an audio specialist. I spend my days writing about cameras and related photo gear for the Photography section of InDepth. But like the majority of our species, I enjoy listening to music while I work, and especially when I go out for my evening run. 

1
Share
3 years ago

Pages