REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Manfrotto012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm)
 
4.7

(based on 43 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (33)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (9)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Lightweight (26)
  • Reliable (21)
  • Easy to set up (17)
  • Easy to setup (15)
  • Consistent (11)

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Portraits (30)
    • Photography (27)
    • Strobe lighting (23)
    • Artificial lighting (22)
    • General purpose (9)
      • Reviewer Profile:
      • Semi-pro photographer (20), Pro photographer (15), Photo enthusiast (4)
      • Was this a gift?:
      • No (31)

    Most Liked Positive Review

     

    I like this stand

    I bought one of these backlight stands about 10 or so years ago and i just bought a second one. "Back in the day" you used to have to pay extra for...Read complete review

    I bought one of these backlight stands about 10 or so years ago and i just bought a second one. "Back in the day" you used to have to pay extra for black stands. This one comes in black as standard and seems to be the same high quality as the older stand with one noticeable improvement. The knob for tightening the pole used to be an uncomfortable squarish shape. Now they use a much better, wing-nut style tightener. Nice.
    I use this stand for back lights and main lights that i need lower than my other stands will allow. I've also used it to mic my bass drum or amp, mount a Zoom H4 stereo recorder, etc. Its pretty versatile.

    VS

    Most Liked Negative Review

     

    OK

    This stand is a bit wobbly with my Bowen's moonlight. Very compact and love how low it gets to the floor but not the most stable at max height.

    This stand is a bit wobbly with my Bowen's moonlight. Very compact and love how low it gets to the floor but not the most stable at max height.

    Reviewed by 43 customers

    Sort by

    Displaying reviews 1-20

    Back to top

    Previous | Next »

     
    4.0

    Doin it's job, cheaply

    By Scott lighting backgrounds

    from NY and SF

    About Me Pro Photographer

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • As Good As Others
    • Cheaper Than Others
    • Durable
    • Lightweight

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • General Use
      • Indoors
      • Portraits

      Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

      Great for lighting backgrounds. Or the need to hide a light.

      • Was this a gift?:
      • No

      Share this review

       
      4.0

      above and beyond

      By krista

      from Charleston, SC

      About Me Photography Student

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Lightweight

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • General Use
        • Indoors
        • Low Light
        • Night Time
        • Portraits

        Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

        I am a photography student, and the original item I ordered was on BO and finally a supervisor was able to find me a compatible solution for the product I ordered. I received it in 2 days!Thank youPS please complement you supervisor for me. He was very very helpful, and patient dealing with a very upset customer that had been hung up on twice, and told that they didn't know about the product that I was looking for. Thank you very help and caring employee

        • Was this a gift?:
        • No

        Share this review

         
        4.0

        Useful piece of kit

        By dakotakid

        from Rochester, Michigan

        About Me Pro Photographer

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Durable
        • Lightweight

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • General Use
          • Indoors
          • Portraits

          Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

          Excellent for placing a light low to the floor. Extension tube is either high or low. Some adjustment possible, but as previous reviewer said, only goes as low as 30" or the floor. Not really a show stopper. Extension tube is an extra bonus to me. Folds nicely, solid stops.

          • Was this a gift?:
          • No

          Share this review

           
          5.0

          Great for Getting Low

          By JJJJ

          from Cranston, RI

          About Me Photo Enthusiast

          Verified Buyer

          Pros

          • Durable
          • Lightweight

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • General Use

            Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

            When you need to place a light low, this is the gizmo to get.

            • Was this a gift?:
            • No

            Share this review

             
            5.0

            Top Quality

            By Langer

            from New Zealand

            About Me Pro Photographer

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Attaches Securely
            • Durable
            • Long-Lasting

            Cons

              Best Uses

              • General Use

              Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

              Very good quality. I would get two of these babies if I was you.

              • Was this a gift?:
              • No

              Share this review

               
              5.0

              Well Built Background Light Stand

              By billyray1usa

              from Southern Indiana

              About Me Pro Photographer

              Verified Buyer

              Pros

              • Attaches Securely
              • Durable
              • Lightweight
              • Long-Lasting

              Cons

                Best Uses

                • General Use
                • Portraits
                • Studio Style Portraits

                Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                Breaks down into two pieces for easy storage in my light case. Sturdy design. Lets me set up background light for about 18 inches to 3 feet -- a range I couldn't get with my small standard light stands.

                • Was this a gift?:
                • No

                Share this review

                 
                5.0

                Classic Perfection

                By pictureted

                from Redwood City, CA

                About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                Verified Buyer

                Pros

                • Attaches Securely
                • Durable
                • Long-Lasting

                Cons

                  Best Uses

                  • Garden Macro
                  • General Use
                  • Outdoors
                  • Portraits

                  Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                  I usually only use the Backlight Stand with a Photoflex Telespoping Litedisc Holder, but the extension are adds little cost a great deal of additional flexibility when you want it. I like using the Litedisc's with the Backlight Stand when shooting macro in the garden. I don't like flash and the reflectors help fill shadows and add light. I add a sand bag when it get windy.

                  Used to use these stands/poles with Dynalights and they still work perfectly for that.

                  A real bargain too!

                  • Was this a gift?:
                  • No

                  Share this review

                   
                  5.0

                  Backlight stand

                  By mwilltn

                  from Chattanooga, TN

                  About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                  Verified Buyer

                  Pros

                  • Consistent
                  • Easy To Set Up
                  • Reliable

                  Cons

                    Best Uses

                    • Artificial Lighting
                    • Photography
                    • Portraits
                    • Strobe Lighting

                    Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                    Used this already in a headshot session and it is exactly what I was looking for. Very sturdy.

                    • Was this a gift?:
                    • No

                    Share this review

                     
                    5.0

                    Just perfect

                    By Lauree

                    from Erie, PA

                    About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                    Verified Buyer

                    Pros

                    • Easy To Set Up
                    • Lightweight

                    Cons

                      Best Uses

                      • Photography
                      • Portraits
                      • Strobe Lighting

                      Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                      Product exactly as described. I think I will be getting a second one!

                      • Was this a gift?:
                      • No

                      Share this review

                       
                      5.0

                      Does the job!

                      By Fred721

                      from Butler, PA

                      About Me Pro Photographer

                      Verified Buyer

                      Pros

                      • Easy To Set Up
                      • Reliable

                      Cons

                        Best Uses

                        • Artificial Lighting
                        • Photography
                        • Portraits
                        • Strobe Lighting

                        Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                        Using this to support a strobe for a back-light. very strong and sturdy stand. Very easy to set up.

                        • Was this a gift?:
                        • No

                        Share this review

                        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                         
                        4.0

                        Does what it's supposed to do.

                        By bfarwell

                        from Brooklyn, NY

                        About Me Pro Photographer

                        Verified Buyer

                        Pros

                        • Easy To Set Up
                        • Reliable

                        Cons

                          Best Uses

                          • Photography
                          • Strobe Lighting

                          Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                          Seems to be well-made, breaks down to a small size, holds a light. Not much more to be said. Significantly shorter than my previous background stand, which was basically just a very small lightstand. Has the additional advantage that it can be opened part-way to a 'T' shape and placed directly against wall to serve as a support for something (I used two of these with superclamps to hold the base of a sheet of plexi against a window)

                          • Was this a gift?:
                          • No

                          Share this review

                          (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                           
                          5.0

                          Perfect for low lighting

                          By Andy

                          from Fort Collins, CO

                          About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                          Pros

                          • Easy To Set Up
                          • Reliable
                          • Solid
                          • Wont Tip Over

                          Cons

                            Best Uses

                            • Artificial Lighting
                            • Photography
                            • Portraits
                            • Strobe Lighting

                            Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                            I bought this and a 156BLB at the same time thinking they would each have their strengths and weaknesses and that turned out to be the case.

                            By omitting the extension pole this unit puts your light low to the ground and is solid. Being heavier than the 15BLB and with legs that extend out further it feels much less likely to tip over and can handle more weight. The legs have stops on them so when spreading they naturally stop when evenly spaced a third apart. The pivot joint is stiff, so some force is required to spread the legs but once in place they'll stay where you want them. The legs have generous rubber tips so they won't scratch the floor and won't slide around. I don't intend to use the fully extended center column so I can't comment on fully extended use. Unlike the 156BLB, there's enough room to put sandbags on the legs, but I don't think I'll ever need to.

                            • Was this a gift?:
                            • No

                            Share this review

                            (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                             
                            5.0

                            Perfect low profile stand

                            By Ziggy

                            from St. Petersburg, FL

                            About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                            Verified Buyer

                            Pros

                            • Easy To Set Up
                            • Lightweight
                            • Reliable

                            Cons

                              Best Uses

                              • Photography
                              • Strobe Lighting

                              Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                              This stand is perfect solution for aiming my strobes to lit the back ground from low angles or for a table top photography when you need to lit things up from underneath. It can be used without extension pole to fix the light virtually at the floor level.

                              • Was this a gift?:
                              • No

                              Share this review

                               
                              5.0

                              Perfect stand

                              By Sunbay

                              from Nyc

                              About Me Pro Photographer

                              Verified Buyer

                              Pros

                              • Consistent
                              • Easy To Set Up
                              • Reliable

                              Cons

                                Best Uses

                                • Artificial Lighting
                                • Photography
                                • Portraits
                                • Strobe Lighting
                                • Weddings

                                Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                                Great for back light and mobile setup

                                • Was this a gift?:
                                • No

                                Share this review

                                (0 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                                 
                                4.0

                                Solid...but

                                By Susie B in Michigan

                                from Grand Rapids, MI

                                About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                                Verified Buyer

                                Pros

                                • Consistent

                                Cons

                                • Multiple Pieces

                                Best Uses

                                • Artificial Lighting
                                • Photography

                                Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                                Solid little stand and does exactly what it is supposed to do...but I think if I was to buy again I'd go with the Manfrotto 156BLB Black Mini Kit Stand - 4'. I like the legs being part of the unit versus having to set up the legs in this unit. Yes, you can set the flash up practically on the floor, but this unit is either carrying around multiple parts, or a pain to carry around. I don't own the 156 yet, it keep son going out of stock...maybe because it is super awesome? But look at both and decide which one fits your needs.

                                • Was this a gift?:
                                • No

                                Share this review

                                 
                                5.0

                                Just what I was looking for!

                                By Bro Dave

                                from Louisville KY

                                About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                                Verified Buyer

                                Pros

                                • Easy To Set Up
                                • Reliable

                                Cons

                                  Best Uses

                                  • Artificial Lighting
                                  • Photography
                                  • Portraits
                                  • Strobe Lighting
                                  • Weddings

                                  Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                                  Well built stand that will get you low to the ground when needed.

                                  • Was this a gift?:
                                  • No

                                  Share this review

                                   
                                  3.0

                                  OK

                                  By JMPhoto

                                  from Worcester, MA

                                  About Me Pro Photographer

                                  Verified Buyer

                                  Pros

                                  • Easy To Set Up
                                  • Lightweight

                                  Cons

                                    Best Uses

                                    • Portraits

                                    Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                                    This stand is a bit wobbly with my Bowen's moonlight. Very compact and love how low it gets to the floor but not the most stable at max height.

                                    • Was this a gift?:
                                    • No

                                    Share this review

                                     
                                    5.0

                                    Awesome Little Stand

                                    By Tanglewood

                                    from nanaimo, BC. Canada

                                    About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                                    Verified Buyer

                                    Pros

                                    • Lightweight

                                    Cons

                                      Best Uses

                                      • Photography
                                      • Portraits
                                      • Strobe Lighting

                                      Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                                      exaxtly what i was looking for, sturdy, short and well made. The feet are a bit sticky but expect to loosen over time.

                                      • Was this a gift?:
                                      • No

                                      Share this review

                                       
                                      5.0

                                      Excellent !

                                      By RLD

                                      from New Jersey

                                      About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                                      Pros

                                      • Attach Securely
                                      • Durable

                                      Cons

                                        Best Uses

                                        • General Use

                                        Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                                        It is exactly what it is supposed to be. Sturdy, compact, well made and durable.

                                        • Was this a gift?:
                                        • No

                                        Share this review

                                        (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                                         
                                        5.0

                                        Excellent product

                                        By UP

                                        from Seattle, WA

                                        About Me Semi-pro Photographer

                                        Verified Buyer

                                        Pros

                                        • Compact
                                        • Easy To Set Up
                                        • Easy to Store
                                        • Well built quality

                                        Cons

                                          Best Uses

                                          • Artificial Lighting
                                          • Backlight stand
                                          • Portraits

                                          Comments about Manfrotto 012B Backlight Stand with Extension Pole, Black - 3.5-33.5" (8.9-85cm):

                                          Perfect stand for a background light. Small and compact to store/transport but plenty stable to securely support a speedlight or even studio strobe. Big plus is that the legs and stand can be easily hidden behind subject.

                                          • Was this a gift?:
                                          • No

                                          Share this review

                                          Displaying reviews 1-20

                                          Back to top

                                          Previous | Next »