REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
GlidecamHD4000 Stabilizer System
 
4.5

(based on 195 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (123)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (55)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (12)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

96%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Professional quality (156)
  • Improves performance (143)
  • Easy to use (85)
  • Compact (72)
  • Highly compatible (71)

Cons

  • Heavy (19)
  • Pricey / poor value (9)
  • Lacks functionality (6)
  • Limited compatibility (6)
  • Poor performance (4)

Best Uses

  • Independent films (142)
  • Complex projects (104)
  • In the studio (51)
  • Home movies (41)
  • Weddings (15)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Professional artist (89), Business owner (85), Enthusiast (31), Film student (20), Cinematographer (3)
    • Was this a gift?:
    • No (153), Yes (3)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Smooth as silk

The Glidecam HD4000 systems [...] came with clear instructions, images, necessary and addtional hardware. Set up and balance of the system is fairly straight foward and takes approximately 45 minutes to...Read complete review

The Glidecam HD4000 systems [...] came with clear instructions, images, necessary and addtional hardware. Set up and balance of the system is fairly straight foward and takes approximately 45 minutes to an hour if you carefully follow intructions.Glidecam has excellent support through their website as well as telephone support. I had two small issues that i encountered. A bolt which was incorrectly installed at the base of the system would not let me adjust it telescopically. I removed it and put it through the other side and presto, no problem. The other was the knob you torque down to lock the telescoping section down was not clearing the tube, so with a bit of sandpapper i sanded it down a bit...problem solved.Overall, the system is beautiful and works as advertised. It will take some time for you to get used to manipulatiing one "in flight" but with practice your camera will "fly". The gimble, bearings, worm drive adjusters and quick release plate make this the obvious choice over older models.I did call Glidecam about the issues i listed in this review and they were quick to respond assuring me that the issue would be resolved at the factory.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Too heavy 5D Mark 2, Glidecam 2000 beter

Using my heaviest lens the 24-70mm 2.8L it is still just barely enough weight for the Glidecam 4000 to carry,

If I use my Canon 35mm 1.4mm the Glidecam 4000...Read complete review

Using my heaviest lens the 24-70mm 2.8L it is still just barely enough weight for the Glidecam 4000 to carry,

If I use my Canon 35mm 1.4mm the Glidecam 4000 will not even balance (Balance as in the counterweight at the bottom as intended, instead the rod floats sideways) Unless almost fully extended which makes it quite a huge non compact rig,

The design is the exact same as the Glidecam 2000, very sturdy and of a quality build but bigger, the only time it is best balanced is when using the extra weight plate (12.7 oz/ 360g).

I like to brag about being able to take 2 minute long smooth shots with the Glidecam 2000 the company I work for owns, I only ordered the Glidecam 4000 thinking it would only be better and because of some misleading advice from some forums,

If you have a 5D mark 2 and your heaviest lens isn't more than the 24-70mm which is 805 g (28.4 oz), The Glidecam 2000 is perfect for your needs and more than you need, the Glidecam 4000 is too large a rig and after a 20 second shot I had an agitated sore upper back the next day, strained a muscle, bearing in mind I take two minute smooth straight continuous shots on the Glidecam 2000, and am able to do so again with a short break in between, the 2000 is the perfect compact rig for the 5dmark2, even with a rode mic. (5d mark 2 = 810g / 28.5719 oz body only)
Plus I have a muscular physique to behold, so the 4000 is simply too heavy and not realistic for my shooting environment and requirement.

The one other ability that is lost with this rig against the Glidecam 2000 is my ability to move from the left side of my body to the right side, with the Glidecam 4000 the tail is simply too long and always bumps my pelvis, whereas the Glidecam 2000 is a perfectly compact size.

So this product is definitely solid but not for me and I will stick with the Glidecam 2000 which I have been using for very long time with great experiences and shots obtained.

Trusting this review helped, y'all have yourselves a fine day
;D ting*

Reviewed by 195 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-20

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 
5.0

Awesome and cheap.

By Dan the man

from LA

About Me Business Owner

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Highly Compatible

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Complex Projects
    • Independent Films

    Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

    I use this glidecam to stabilize a Red Scarlet and it works great. It's really heavy, but I've used it with an arm and it helps out a lot. It's definitely the cheapest way to do steadicam shots with the Red Scarlet... There must be many other better ways, but for sure much more (2k dlls or more) expensive.

    • Was this a gift?:
    • No

    Share this review

     
    5.0

    Awesome! Love it!

    By Seeg

    from Oregon

    Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

    Awesome stabilizer! I took it out to a park and had my wife chase around geese next to a lake and I was running after her. After reviewing the footage I was amazed!! Sooo smooth! It takes a while to set up, but if you read the directions carefully and do it right, it's worth every penny. Watch some YouTube videos to set it up if you must.

    Share this review

    (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

     
    5.0

    5 Stars Baby

    By Austin

    from Long Valley, NJ

    Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

    For some reason I headed into the whole operation of buying a glidecam prepared to drop two grand on a simple piece of equipment like this. Not only did the price blow me away, but the performance did too. Two recommendations!!! ONE. Your wrist will get extremely tried after even a minute of use. I workout 3-4 times a week and am quite in shape- the arm brace really extended my shooting time. (Buy this separate for $) TWO. The quick release plate is a must. Just make sure you get one that doesn't blow. The one I got always gets stuck in place and then when I get it out it smashes my finger. Everytime. Anyways that's about it. Happy shooting!

    Share this review

     
    5.0

    Takes a lot of practice, but worth it!

    By SaybrookEditor

    from Old Saybrook, CT

    About Me Professional Artist

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Professional Quality

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Complex Projects
      • Independent Films

      Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

      Right at the top, let me say I don't give this 5 stars because it's the best in an absolute sense. I give it 5 stars because for the buck, there is nothing that will add more production value or be more useful in a shooting situation. I've been using the 4000HD for a couple of weeks now and have to say that spending an hour a day has paid off in being able to pull off some pretty amazing floating shots which have virtually none of the typical hand held motion artifacts. Indeed, every pro that I've shown the footage to has been quite impressed by the fluidity of motion that this is capable of. Okay, a few caveats. This sucker is heavy. It will make your wrist very tired very quickly and if you use the arm brace it will make your arm very tired very quickly. This is the nature of a proper stabilizer... it's got to have mass to work. The more weight you add up top, the more you need down below. I have not even tried to seriously use my Panasonic AF100 on this (beyond verifying that I will idead balance the weight load) simply because I can't support it for more than about 30 seconds! However, with my Lumix GH3 and 12-35mm f/2.8, this does become much more managable. Even so, I practice suppporting it on a daily basis just so I can build up muscle mass and endurance. The other issue which is again part of the nature of stabilzers is that any change in lens focal length or lens requires rebalancing the rig. In fact, it's so sensitive that having the dust cap on or even the SD card out will affect it. This is where the quick plate adjustments make the HD model a far superior product to the less expensive Glidecam 4000.In all, this will challange you. If you've got the desire to master what this can do, expect to spend a lot of time practicing. I'm not even close as it still usually takes about three tries to really get the moves I'm looking for. Ultimately though, you will be rewarded with results so spectacular you'll never want to shoot handheld again!

      • Was this a gift?:
      • No

      Share this review

       
      3.0

      Is this practice or a workout?

      By ARL Productions

      from San Diego, CA

      About Me Beginner To Intermediate, Business Owner

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Compact Design
      • Improves Performance
      • Professional Quality

      Cons

      • Limited Compatibility
      • Pricey / Poor Value

      Best Uses

      • Small Business Vids
      • Weddings

      Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

      So I've only used this item a couple times as of yet. Hopefully I can at least give you some insight from my bit of experience.Putting this item together was pretty simple. The instructions for this are GREAT! One thing they did leave out is that when fine tuning the balancing, there is one knob that you need to unlock for each of the two ways to adjust the forward/backward and side to side adjusting. I would have also been happy to have a little extra weight on the left side so that I could mount the camera all the way to the right side so that I could actually lock it in instead of having to remove the entire cheese-plate each time I want to use the camera without the Steadicam. The camera is held on nice and tight though, so that's great! One last thing on construction...I wish the "feet" would fold up to make it a little more compact. Now to address my headline. I use my Canon 5Dii or 7D with a wide angle lens with this. It gets heavy! Or I just no longer have muscles. I'm sure that the more I continue using this, it will (hopefully) get easier to carry for longer periods of time. It's not that bad of a thing...unless you would prefer it be made out of something much lighter/flimsier. It's just something you definitely need to keep in mind before ordering yourself one. Be prepared to feel the burn! And lastly, holding it steady is going to take some practice. gripping with your second hand is going to take some practice. This thing moves so smoothly and freely in every way! It's awesome! You will need to practice getting used to having both hands doing something different at the same time. Technique is going to take a little more time than I had anticipated. But I guess that's part of what makes filming an art. If you're impatient, this might not be the item for you. Do I like it? I can see myself liking it in the future. I can see it's potential.is it worth it? Close, but I think I would have rather saved a little more to buy something slightly easier to use.Would I recommend this to anyone? I think that's circumstantial. I honestly don't think it's for everyone, but could be a great tool for someone that knows what they want to do and knows what shots they want. Hope this helps...

      • Was this a gift?:
      • No

      Share this review

       
      5.0

      Great stabilizer!!

      By DC

      from Houston, TX

      About Me Hobbyist

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Easy To Use
      • Highly Compatible
      • Improves Performance
      • Lightweight
      • Professional Quality

      Cons

      • Low Mode Not The Best

      Best Uses

      • Home Movies
      • Independent Films

      Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

      I love this stabilizer! It is a whole lot easier to balance/use than the steadicam merlin. However, when going low the handle will knock the platform if your not careful.

      • Was this a gift?:
      • No

      Share this review

       
      5.0

      Great product, great stabilization.

      By Scott

      from Allentown, PA

      About Me Professional Artist

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Easy To Use
      • Improves Performance
      • Professional Quality
      • Smooth

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Complex Projects
        • Independent Films

        Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

        As with any stabilizer, it's somewhat tricky to get balanced, but once you do, it's an awesome product. It only took me under 5 minutes to stabilize my Mark iii with lens, rode videomic, and other accessories. It works great, and is super smooth and professional.

        I definitely recommend a vest, as it gets very heavy, but that's the case in most stabilizers.

        • Was this a gift?:
        • No

        Share this review

         
        5.0

        Great !

        By Positivefilter

        from Australia

        About Me Hobbyist, Professional Artist

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Easy To Use
        • Improves Performance
        • Professional Quality

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Home Movies
          • Independent Films
          • In The Studio

          Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

          Solid, quick, reliable. The combo with the Manfrotto 577 is not that great at the beginning you have to make some twist for it to work. But when you get this sorted, it is indispensable to have it.

          • Was this a gift?:
          • No

          Share this review

           
          5.0

          King of Stabilizers

          By Paul

          from San Jose, CA

          Verified Buyer

          Pros

          • Compact Design
          • Highly Compatible
          • Improves Performance
          • Professional Quality

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Complex Projects
            • Independent Films
            • In The Studio

            Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

            I bought this product for dual use, both for event videography, and theatrical set work. It suits both quite well.For live events, the fluidity of movement and stabilization are second to none, it does take a bit of effort to set it up and get the balance perfect. So I recommend a good QR plate so you can swap it back and forth as needed and build an approximate balance starting point. The only real detraction is the increase in weight over the HD2000, while the specs say it isn't much heavier, I have used both, and after a long wedding or conference, that little difference in weight feels like a mountain.For narrative work, I think it is superb, you need the same things that make it good for videography, but the length of use is shorter, so the weight is not nearly as much of a problem.All in all, a really great device, probably the best on the market at this price range. (I would also avoid the foreign knockoffs, I have a friend who runs one, and while it started off well, after 6 months of use, it is already showing it's age.)

            • Was this a gift?:
            • No

            Share this review

             
            5.0

            Works well

            By Tony

            from Ann Arbor MI

            About Me Hobbyist

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Improves Performance
            • Professional Quality

            Cons

              Best Uses

              • Independent Films

              Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

              Very solid and reliable. Heavy and hard to hold without bobbing and weaving, but for a few seconds you can get very smooth steadicam shots.

              • Was this a gift?:
              • No

              Share this review

               
              5.0

              Used it with the GH3

              By ecxs

              from Los Angeles, CA

              About Me Professional Artist

              Verified Buyer

              Pros

              • Easy To Use
              • Highly Compatible
              • Improves Performance
              • Professional Quality

              Cons

                Best Uses

                • Complex Projects
                • Independent Films

                Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                I upgraded from the old xr2000 and boy this one was so much easier to balance! Very stable once you get it right. Highly recommended.

                • Was this a gift?:
                • No

                Share this review

                (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                 
                3.0

                Very Heavy

                By KimG

                from Cali

                About Me Hobbyist

                Verified Buyer

                Pros

                • Professional Quality

                Cons

                • Heavy

                Best Uses

                • Independent Films

                Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                I'm sure it's a very nice stabilizer I just can't get over how heavy it is. I'm a pretty strong girl and I can't hold the stabilizer longer then 2 minutes. So I know I won't be able to use it during a long shoot. I use a Canon 70d with a 18-135 lens. I will probably return it and just use my monopod.

                • Was this a gift?:
                • No

                Share this review

                 
                4.0

                Happiness once you get the hang of it

                By Sebasatthedisco

                from Cali, Colombia, Valle del Cauca

                About Me Business Owner, Film Student, Professional Artist

                Verified Buyer

                Pros

                • Improves Performance
                • Professional Quality

                Cons

                • A Bit Hard To Balance
                • Heavy

                Best Uses

                • Complex Projects
                • Home Movies
                • Independent Films

                Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                This steady cam is amazing but only when you get the hang of it, it´s quite heavy even more than the HD 2000 I own a Canon 5D MK III and balancing it is quite a challenge but as long as you practice, you will get amazing footage. For scenic continuous shot use a wide angle lens!

                • Was this a gift?:
                • No

                Share this review

                (0 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                 
                4.0

                Awesome stabilizer system,

                By Haris Rao

                from Islamabad, Pakistan

                About Me Business Owner, Film Student, Professional Artist

                Verified Buyer

                Pros

                • Compact Design
                • Easy To Use
                • Highly Compatible
                • Improves Performance
                • Professional Quality

                Cons

                • Pricey / Poor Value

                Best Uses

                • Complex Projects
                • Independent Films
                • In The Studio

                Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                This is a great tool to assist in obtaining smooth floating footage. The unit is quality built and fairly simple to use. The manual will help you get it assembled. YouTube will help you figure out how to balance it. I chose the 4000 to be able to use different cameras with it. So far it handles my dslr with lseries 24-70 glass with no problem. This is a must have for movies, music videos and weddings.

                • Was this a gift?:
                • No

                Share this review

                (0 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                 
                5.0

                Smooth Footage

                By Radiant Amar

                from Brooklyn

                Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                This is a great tool to assist in obtaining smooth floating footage. The unit is quality built and fairly simple to use. The manual will help you get it assembled. YouTube will help you figure out how to balance it. I chose the 4000 to be able to use different cameras with it. So far it handles my dslr with lseries 24-70 glass with no problem. This is a must have for movies, music videos and weddings.

                Share this review

                 
                5.0

                Brilliant product

                By Dan the Man

                from New York

                About Me Hobbyist

                Verified Buyer

                Pros

                • Easy To Use
                • Highly Compatible
                • Professional Quality

                Cons

                  Best Uses

                  • Independent Films
                  • In The Studio

                  Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                  Instructions are easy to follow. Was able to use it within minutes. It takes a heavy load. I am using a Canon 60D with a Sigma wide angle lens. Bearings are smooth. All the parts (nuts and screws) are standard, so easy to work with or replace (if I ever had to). All I have to do now is get good at using it !

                  • Was this a gift?:
                  • Yes

                  Share this review

                   
                  4.0

                  Paint issues

                  By Sherwin L

                  from San Diego, CA

                  Verified Buyer

                  Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                  I like this stabilizer but I have an issue with the post/tube that connects the "wings" to the main post/tube. I have loosened the tightening screws but every time I insert the post/tube to the main post/tube, make adjustments and pull to remove, the paint gets scratched and peels off when it rubs against the inside wall of the larger post/tube. Is it just my copy that has this issue? I don't see this happening to other people in their video reviews of this product. It makes it feel cheap.

                  I have a Canon C100 and using this with that camera makes it a really heavy setup. I recommend getting the arm brace from Glidecam or, what I actually did recently, was purchase a Glidecam X-10.

                  Stabilizing it was fairly easy for me just because I've seen many videos on how to do it so I was prepared before I even received this product. I didn't read the manual at all.

                  Share this review

                   
                  3.0

                  Peeling paint?

                  By Sherwin Laranga

                  from San Diego, CA

                  Verified Reviewer

                  Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                  I like this product a lot. I think it's going to be perfect with my Canon C100. But one flaw that I'm seeing is - why is the paint peeling off? I'm talking about the short tube that connects the "wings" section to the main body. When you slide it in the body tube, even when the tightening knob is loosened, and I try to pull it out again it starts to scratch and peel the black paint off.It kinda feels cheap when this happens to a [$] product.

                  Share this review

                  (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

                   
                  5.0

                  Perfect for DSLR Shooters

                  By CinemaStory LLC

                  from Dallas, TX

                  About Me Business Owner, Professional Artist

                  Verified Buyer

                  Pros

                  • Improves Performance
                  • Professional Quality
                  • Quick Balance Adjustments

                  Cons

                    Best Uses

                    • Complex Projects
                    • Independent Films
                    • Weddings

                    Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                    I tried the a knock-off stabilizer with very little success. Used the Glidecam XR-1000 with my small camcorder for weddings but finally upgraded to the HD4000 for my DSLRs. Nice thing about the HD series is the quick balance tuning nobs; makes balancing not as frustrating as XR-1000. Perfect with my Canon 7D and 35mm lens plus Rode VideoMic Pro for action shots at weddings and documentary filming. Be aware any kind of stabilization device like Glidecams take a while to learn how to balance and operate correctly. I am still learning tricks as I progress. Make sure to buy a quick release plate if you are going from tripod, to glidecam, to jib, to slider during a production. This HD4000 held up great in the wind while shooting outdoors but will strain your shoulder and arm after several hours of use but there are support systems you can purchase like a vest or wrist brace to help manage the weight.

                    Share this review

                     
                    4.0

                    Solidly made and practice makes perfect

                    By Rizzo Media Factory

                    from Houston, TX

                    About Me Business Owner, Professional Artist

                    Verified Buyer

                    Pros

                    • Highly Compatible
                    • Improves Performance
                    • Professional Quality

                    Cons

                    • Needs Practice
                    • Practice Makes Perfect

                    Best Uses

                    • Complex Projects
                    • Independent Films
                    • In The Studio

                    Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                    I use this primarily with a D800 and Atomos Ninja 2. About 30 minutes out of the box I was able to start practicing with the Glidecam but I decided to spend a long time balancing it out meticulously and that pays off. If you spend that time balancing it to perfection it works so much better. Also, I would not consider myself in shape but I can use the system for shots close to 60 seconds before I have a hard time controlling it. If you know you will shoot long shots or have days of heavy use, I highly recommend a vest.

                    • Was this a gift?:
                    • No

                    Share this review

                    Displaying reviews 1-20

                    Back to top

                    Previous | Next »