REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Tokina16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras
 
3.6

(based on 9 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

78%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Fast / accurate auto-focus (5)
  • Rugged (5)
  • Strong construction (5)
  • Durable (4)
  • Easily interchangeable (4)

Cons

  • Heavy (5)

Best Uses

  • Landscape/scenery (7)
  • Wildlife photos (7)
  • Weddings (5)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Semi-pro photographer (4), Photo enthusiast (3)
    • Was this a gift?:
    • No (8)

Reviewed by 9 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-9

Back to top

(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Well worth the money..

By DC18830

from Walpole, NH

About Me Semi-pro Photographer

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Fast / accurate auto-focus
  • Rugged
  • Strong Construction

Cons

  • Heavy

Best Uses

  • Landscape/Scenery
  • Weddings/Events
  • Wildlife Photos

Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras:

I would have given it a 5 star rating, but I had to return the first one. B&H did a fantastic job with the return though. Sent the second one Next Day Air! This lens is solid, responsive, produces sharp images, and the range is perfect. It's all I expected. Second Tokina lens I own now and very impressed.

  • Was this a gift?:
  • No

Share this review

(4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

One of the better (If not the best) zoom

By Pircaa

from Quillota, Chile

About Me Semi-pro Photographer

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Consistent Output
  • Durable
  • Easily Interchangeable
  • Fast / accurate auto-focus
  • Nice Bokeh
  • One lens for all
  • Rugged
  • Strong Construction

Cons

  • Heavy

Best Uses

  • Landscape/Scenery
  • Portraits
  • Sports/Action
  • Weddings/Events
  • Wildlife Photos

Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras:

Compré este zoom para usarlo con mi Fuji Finepix S3 Pro Camera.
I buy this zoom to use with my Fuji Finepix S3 Pro Camera.
B&H have the best price. And, I have it in my home in only 6 days (From B&H USA to Quillota, Chile). Fast and easy international transaction!!!
It is a marvelous zoom. From the widest angle at 16.5mm (25mm in APS-C) to the full 135mm (205mm in APS-C it is clean, sharp and clear to the corners of the image.
With only one lens, I have ALL.

  • Was this a gift?:
  • No

Share this review

(0 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Would buy this product again !

By Bob S.

from Utica Mi.

About Me Photo Enthusiast

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Easily Interchangeable
  • Fast / accurate auto-focus
  • Nice Bokeh
  • Rugged

Cons

  • Heavy

Best Uses

  • Landscape/Scenery
  • Weddings/Events
  • Wildlife Photos

Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras:

Better than i expected for the price.

  • Was this a gift?:
  • No

Share this review

(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Tokina:versatile zoon with great quality

By Oscar

from Sao Paulo / BRAZIL

About Me Pro Photographer

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Consistent Output
  • Easily Interchangeable
  • Fast / accurate auto-focus
  • Rugged
  • Strong Construction

Cons

  • Heavy

Best Uses

  • Indoors/Low Light
  • Landscape/Scenery
  • Sports/Action
  • Weddings/Events
  • Wildlife Photos

Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras:

This lens have an accurate and fast auto focus and with images quite good in landscapes and portraits and architetural subjects. In my photographic work wich means interiors and decoration I think this Tokina have my appruval , good color and versatility
in terms of angles make it one of the best tools that I´ve ever had .

  • Was this a gift?:
  • No

Share this review

(1 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

I had no problem with this product

By Babs

from Sussex Wisconsin

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Durable

Cons

    Best Uses

      Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras:

      We tested this len in our product and had no issues.

      • Was this a gift?:
      • No

      Share this review

      (12 of 13 customers found this review helpful)

       
      2.0

      Think twice

      By Andrey

      from Moscow, Russia

      About Me Semi-pro Photographer

      Verified Reviewer

      Pros

      • Durable
      • Strong Construction

      Cons

      • Not sharp

      Best Uses

      • Indoors/Low Light
      • Landscape/Scenery
      • Outdoors
      • Wildlife Photos

      Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras:

      I have another Tokina lens (12-24 Pro) and I am absolutely satisfied with it. It really is for pros. I bought 16.5-135 lens as as substitute for my Nikon 17-55/2.8 lens to use it outdoors. When you take pictures with this Tokina lens, though it is rigid and durable - built like a tank - you get an impression that the photo was taken through a veil. Images are not crystal sharp and they cannot be compared with images taken with Nikon lenses, even inexpensive ones. So, think twice before you buy this lens.

      • Was this a gift?:
      • No

      Share this review

      (1 of 11 customers found this review helpful)

       
      1.0

      0 Rating

      By Keshav

      from New Jersey

      About Me Semi-pro Photographer

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

        Cons

        • Blurry Focus

        Best Uses

          Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras:

          Pictures are sharp at the center and soft at the edges. Left edge of the picture is bad.
          The Lens is defective (manufacture problem). Need a replacement.

          Please let me know the procedure for replacement.

          • Was this a gift?:
          • No

          Share this review

          (4 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

           
          3.0

          Good only for the price

          By Miki

          from New York

          About Me Photo Enthusiast

          Pros

          • Lightweight

          Cons

          • Poor in Low Light
          • Weak Casing

          Best Uses

          • Landscape/Scenery
          • Wildlife Photos

          Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras:

          I would say the only good from this lens is just the price.
          I borrowed this lens from my friend who was just started loving photography. I tried some shots from certain focal from 16mm, 24mm, 50mm, 85mm and 135mm.
          The result is just everage and there were nothing special need to be commented.
          I rather say, Nikkor lens which is same class with this Tokina (18-135mm) even much better.
          For beginner maybe okay, but after several months when you know how to make a nice and correct photos, then you will forget this lens.

          • Was this a gift?:
          • No

          Share this review

          (7 of 8 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          Tokina 16.5-135mm

          By St Bart

          from Cleveland, OH

          About Me Photo Enthusiast

          Verified Buyer

          Pros

          • Consistent Output
          • Durable
          • Easily Interchangeable
          • Fast / accurate auto-focus
          • Rugged
          • Strong Construction

          Cons

          • Heavy

          Best Uses

          • Landscape/Scenery
          • Weddings/Events
          • Wildlife Photos

          Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Nikon Digital Cameras:

          Used as a walk around. Quality is outstanding, as is the smooth feel. Would recommend. Doubt you would find a better lens with the wide angle capability at even double the price. 135 satisfies 98 of what I need (nature, birds, vacations).

          Share this review