REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Tokina16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras
 
4.2

(based on 10 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

80%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Durable (7)
  • Strong construction (7)
  • Consistent output (6)
  • Fast / accurate auto-focus (6)
  • Easily interchangeable (4)

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Landscape/scenery (8)
    • Wildlife photos (4)
    • Low light (3)
    • Weddings (3)
      • Reviewer Profile:
      • Casual photographer (3)
      • Was this a gift?:
      • No (7)

    Most Liked Positive Review

     

    Nice Lens

    I bought this to replace a Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens. I wanted a wider lens for indoor shots, and this one is both wider and has more telephoto than...Read complete review

    I bought this to replace a Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens. I wanted a wider lens for indoor shots, and this one is both wider and has more telephoto than the L. I'm sure the L lens has better glass, but for my uses it's great. I'm just an amateur, and 95% of my photos get resized/resampled for the web anyway, so top of the line glass is a waste on me. Not sure what Bokeh is anyway, so I'm probably not missing it if it isn't there. LOL

    VS

    Most Liked Negative Review

     

    Just So So Lens

    Walk around camera
    Auto focus is not sharp
    Manual focus works \ok

    Walk around camera
    Auto focus is not sharp
    Manual focus works \ok

    Reviewed by 10 customers

    Sort by

    Displaying reviews 1-10

    Back to top

     
    4.0

    Pretty good lens, especially at f/9

    By birder2000

    from British Columbia, Canada

    Verified Reviewer

    Pros

    • Durable
    • Easily Interchangeable
    • Rugged
    • Strong Construction

    Cons

    • Lens Creep

    Best Uses

    • Landscape/Scenery

    Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

    I bought this lens a couple years ago and it is currently my main wide angle lens. I use it on a Canon EOS 60D, and I have gotten some pretty good results with it. I find the sharpness to be fairly consistent throughout the focal range however the corners are a little less sharp on the wide end. For the first while it seems that the biggest flaw of this lens is the sharpness. It took me a while to figure out, but I find if you shoot at f/9, it makes a huge difference and your images will be much sharper. In good light this lens focuses very fast but it is a bit slower in low light. Still better than many other lenses though in low light performance. The lens does creep, but for me that is not a huge deal. When shooting sunsets there is often a little bit of flare, but this goes away when you put on the hood. Overall a good lens for an amateur photographer.

    Share this review

     
    4.0

    Decent Lens for the Price

    By Robert

    from Steilacoom, WA

    About Me Photo Enthusiast

    Verified Reviewer

    Pros

    • Consistent Output
    • Strong Construction

    Cons

      Best Uses

        Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

        Surprised by the poor corner sharpness at full aperture (3.5), but stopping down even slightly to 4.0 improves things greatly! Decent corner sharpness at 4.0, and very good by 5.6. Build quality is terrific. Size is perfect for handling. Not the best lens I own, but one I certainly enjoy using.

        Share this review

         
        4.0

        Excellent Lens

        By Dan

        from Los Angeles CA

        About Me Pro Photographer

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Consistent Output
        • Durable
        • Easily Interchangeable
        • Fast / accurate auto-focus
        • Strong Construction

        Cons

        • Heavy

        Best Uses

        • Landscape/Scenery
        • Weddings/Events

        Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

        The beauty of this lens is that it works as well for wide angle landscapes as it does for portraits. As a result, this is an ideal utility lens to keep in your camera bag. It is corner-to-corner sharp from wide angle to medium telephoto. At first,it seemed a little on the heavy side but once I got used to it that did not seem to be an issue. No regrets.

        • Was this a gift?:
        • No

        Share this review

        (0 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

         
        3.0

        Just So So Lens

        By Arnie

        from St. George, UT

        About Me Casual Photographer

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Durable

        Cons

        • Blurry Focus
        • Slow Focus

        Best Uses

        • Indoors/Low Light
        • Landscape/Scenery

        Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

        Walk around camera
        Auto focus is not sharp
        Manual focus works \ok

        • Was this a gift?:
        • No

        Share this review

        (4 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

         
        5.0

        Nice Lens

        By Haywire

        from Kentucky

        About Me Casual Photographer

        Verified Reviewer

        Pros

        • Fast / accurate auto-focus
        • Lightweight

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Indoors/Low Light
          • Landscape/Scenery
          • Wildlife Photos

          Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

          I bought this to replace a Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM lens. I wanted a wider lens for indoor shots, and this one is both wider and has more telephoto than the L. I'm sure the L lens has better glass, but for my uses it's great. I'm just an amateur, and 95% of my photos get resized/resampled for the web anyway, so top of the line glass is a waste on me. Not sure what Bokeh is anyway, so I'm probably not missing it if it isn't there. LOL

          • Was this a gift?:
          • No

          Share this review

          (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          Very pleased

          By JJ

          from Collegeville, PA

          About Me Photo Enthusiast

          Verified Reviewer

          Pros

          • Consistent Output
          • Durable
          • Fast / accurate auto-focus
          • Reasonably priced
          • Strong Construction

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Landscape/Scenery
            • Railroad photography
            • Sports/Action
            • Weddings/Events
            • Wildlife Photos

            Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

            This lens replaced a Canon EF-s 18mm - 200mm zoom. No regrets. Awesome build quality (no lens creep) AND awesome picture quality. It's as if my pictures came alive. Fast focusing, quiet operation. Though it doesn't have image stabilization, I don't really miss it.

            • Was this a gift?:
            • No

            Share this review

            (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

             
            4.0

            This is the upgrade for starters.

            By SuburbanBlack

            from S.T. Paul MN.

            About Me Casual Photographer

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Consistent Output
            • Durable
            • Easily Interchangeable
            • Fast / accurate auto-focus
            • Rugged
            • Strong Construction

            Cons

            • Heavy

            Best Uses

            • Landscape/Scenery

            Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

            For the average person who wants to start upgrading there kit. For the money you can't beat it.

            • Was this a gift?:
            • No

            Share this review

            (3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

             
            5.0

            I would buy this lens again !

            By Ann

            from Maryland

            About Me Semi-pro Photographer

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Consistent Output
            • Durable
            • Fast / accurate auto-focus
            • Rugged
            • Strong Construction

            Cons

              Best Uses

              • Landscape/Scenery
              • Wildlife Photos

              Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

              This is a very nice everyday zoom lens. It covers wide angle to 135 mm and is strong and very well built .
              I like the colors and the sharpness . In low light you just have to up your ISO and the lens produces good results .

              • Was this a gift?:
              • No

              Share this review

              (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

               
              5.0

              I would buy this product again and again

              By JBCarvalho

              from Sao Paulo - SP - Brazil

              About Me Pro Photographer

              Verified Buyer

              Pros

              • Consistent Output
              • Durable
              • Easily Interchangeable
              • Fast / accurate auto-focus
              • Strong Construction

              Cons

                Best Uses

                • Indoors/Low Light
                • Landscape/Scenery
                • Sports/Action
                • Weddings/Events
                • Wildlife Photos

                Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

                I use that lens to working in a events.
                The best thing for me is the spread. Because that one has 16.5-135mm and that can cover all things that I need to working in that Events.
                The motor is realy fast.
                The lens is strong.

                • Was this a gift?:
                • No

                Share this review

                (2 of 23 customers found this review helpful)

                 
                3.0

                Still Undecided

                By Rhonda

                from Wise, VA

                Verified Buyer

                Pros

                • Made well

                Cons

                • rather heavy

                Best Uses

                  Comments about Tokina 16.5-135mm f/3.5-5.6 AT-X DX AF Lens for Canon Digital Cameras:

                  I purchased this lens because it was a couple hundred dollars cheaper than a Canon lens. Photography is just a hobby, but I really like my photos to be clear and colors vivid. I'm not real sure how satisfied I am with this lens. It is very heavy and not so clear at some distances. Will give it another try this weekend and hopefully will have better results.

                  Share this review