Buy the HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder on http://www.bhphotovideo.com/ Print This PagePrint This Page
HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder image
 
(based on 78 ratings)
Brand: Sony
Located in: Professional Video, Video Cameras & Accessories, Prosumer Camcorders
The Sony HVR-HD1000U is an HDV camcorder specifically designed for videographers looking for an affordable shoulder-mounted camera. Ideal for event work and wedding videography the camera is equipped with a ClearVid CMOS sensor capable of recording 1080i high definition footage on a standard MiniDV tape! Additionally the HVR-HD1000U comes fitted with a 10x Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar lens with Super SteadyShotTM image stabilization ensuring operators get the perfect shot every time. These features make the HVR-HD1000U a welcome addition to the already proven line of Sony professional HDV products.
Product Reviews Summary
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 78 reviews)
95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable to operate(57), Durable(24), Great features(39), Great picture quality(60), Great sound(27)
Cons:
Complicated to operate(5), Flimsy construction(13), Low-quality recordings(4), Poor battery life(6), Poor sound(9)
Best Uses:
Documentaries(11), Family(10), HD shooting(10), Home movies(4), Movies/short films(32)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(5), Professional(23), Pro videographer(8), Semi-professional(29), Semi-pro videographer(5)
 
Great Value and Well Designed
By WilliamsVisualVerified Reviewer from Ogden, Utah on 4/2/2009
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Flimsy Construction
Best Uses:
Corporate, Documentaries, Education
Describe Yourself:
Pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I'm rating five stars based on value. Is it the best built, best image quality HDV camcorder, of course not. However for the cost it comes very close in good light to more expensive options. I sold my Canon HV-A1 after buying a Canon 5D Mark II. Not wanting to use a double audio set up with the Mark II, I needed a professional appearing camcorder for a series of interviews and didn't want to spend a lot money. The HVR-HD1000U is working well for the project and the footage will down convert to DVD with no problem.

Beware that the viewfinder and LCD show only approx. 90% of what you are actually recording (overscan?). This caused problems, but now I can work around it. A Beachtek would greatly enhance usablity (I'm using a field mixer.) The right/left audio meters are great! The ring control feature actual works well although don't expect manual focus to respond like more expensive camcorders. Sometimes I must spin the ring several times to focus. Touch screen works better than I anticipated. I have a Canon HV20 and the picture is similar with about the same amount of noise. Either camera can be adjusted to match more closely. I also really have to jam my eye into the viewfinder to see the screen clearly.

All in all a great buy and an excellent example of a product well-engineered to meet a price point.

 
Worth every penny I paid.
By Brian C from Trinidad on 3/23/2009
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Documentaries, Home Movies, Movies/Short Films, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Because this product is light-weight. It makes it easy to shoulder mount for long periods without fatigue to the user. The touch screen control functions gives the camera a sleek edge to it.The camera delivers the same great quality as other more expensive cameras do.

 
Exactly as advertised
By Max CultureVerified Purchaser from Boston North on 2/20/2009
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Documentaries, HD Shooting
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This unit is exactly what I expected from reading the ad. Perfect for showing up to a production job. The psychological impact on the client of showing up with "big" cameras has a value. Of course all features could be packed into a much smaller unit and to a pro the unit feels "cheap".
Bottom line is it films great sounds good and you will be surprised by the touch screen transport.
Certainly a great entry level HD camera for the buck.

 
Professional Look HD Camera in Low Price
By The Last KnightVerified Reviewer from Houston,TX on 2/1/2009
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Low-Quality Recordings, Poor Sound
Best Uses:
Documentaries, HD Shooting, Movies/Short Films
Describe Yourself:
Pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I use in events and weddings, it works good, it fits according to my needs, Increase quality of my video by using my extra lights.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really like my HD1000U
By ASUQB1Verified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 1/22/2009
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Inadequate Features
Best Uses:
commercial, ENG, HD Shooting, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Picture quality has been well above expectations. Most of the people I work with can not believe the image quality for a single chip camera. It does struggle in super-low light, but I used the camera this past football season both on the sidelines and as a main cam position up top and it was amazing. Coming for a broadcasting background, I am throughly impressed.

Would like built in xlr connections, having to use an adapter( DXA-2S) is OK, but could be better. After some experimenting with internal camera settings and the adapter settting, have been able to get clear, broadcast quality audio. It could have a better chassis, but that would raise the price.

Ultimately you can not beat this camera when comparing Value per Dollar invested. It has the look, feel and performance of camera's costing ten times plus the price. I HAVE recommended this camera to friends and will again.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
For the money you can't beat it.
By Hayward from tifton,georgia on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Documentaries, Movies/Short Films, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

We are a commercial regional network all our programming is local. We operate 24 hours a day every day of the year. We have done this for 23 years.We operate on a limited budget. We use Sony gear we have a 170 and several 2000's they all work great these cameras are all above the $2000 price range. This year we wanted to put more cameras in the field but,purely from a budget standpoint we were looking for something less expensive that keeps our quality and it has to be compatible with batteries and other gear we use. I got our first hd 1000u today took it out of the box went and did a news story on a huge fire.I shot every thing on automatic used the on camera mike for interviews(our reporters film and interview at the same time) the camera was great the sound was good. For the money( little over $1,300) you won't beat this camera. The camera looks good too, makes you look professional when you take it out. Buy the 10 hour Sony battery you can film full auto for six hours. Has some good features on manual settings. These will take a little getting accustomed to. I have bought from B&h for over 20 years [...]. Sony and B&H are a winning combo. [...]

 
Amazing Image
By DougVerified Purchaser from Seattle on 1/14/2009
Pros:
Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Lacks SLR audio in
Best Uses:
HD Shooting
Describe Yourself:
Video Enthusiast

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Based on some of the cons from other reviewers I was pleasantly surprised at how much I like this camera.

 
Good all around for price
By InkyVerified Purchaser from Chardon, Ohio on 1/6/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Documentaries, HD Shooting, Home Movies
Describe Yourself:
Video Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

We've used it so far for a short film and some commercial footage and have no real complaints. We'll probably eventually need to invest in an adapter for an external mic to get great audio but the picture and features are great.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera !
By M.S.Sondey, Owner, [@]Verified Purchaser from Michigan, USA on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Documentaries, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This is a really nice camera. It is exactly what the product definition says, to a T. If it wasn't, I wouldn't have bought two of these last week.My company films weddings, corporate work, and dance recitals. My main 2 cameras are Sony HDR FX-1's.Have you ever tryed to shoulder an FX-1 for any period of time? Unless you have a steadycam rig, it just doesn't work. So, we put the FX-1's on tripods, and go mobile with these 1000U's.This camera's mobility is great, and being able to shoot with an ENG Style cam is like going back home. (I started out in the 80's with a VHS rig)The only thing not included with this camera, that you will need if you are a serious shooter, is the NP-F970 battery, because the one this camera ships with (NP-F570) will buy you about an hour of stright thru shooting. But it's a good back up battery.There are plenty of pic controls, but you have to go thru the touch screen menu to get to them. The focus/zoom ring is SUPER smooth, and the button controls on the lens are touch sensitive, and are very smooth also. There is however, the ability to make the focus/zoom ring become whatever you want it to be, such as focus, zoom, w/b, iris, etc. The STEREO mic (included) sounds surprisingly good, and clear L/R channel separation is present.Unless you are going to edit in Hi-Def, and author in Blu-Ray, most people (read CLIENTS) would be hard pressed to tell the difference between the 1000U, and an FX-1. Especially since most of us are delivering our product on one format or another that requires compression, such as dvd, wmv, etc.There is a small amount of mosquito noise at low light, but in normal daylight level shooting conditions, there was none. Absolutely CRYSTAL clear pic, and color smearing would be surprisingly low for a camera of twice the price of these units. The color was realistic, and lifelike, and the skintones were warm, and not exaggerated.CONCLUSIONIs this camera an HDR FX-1 or HDR-V1U? No.Does it act like it wants to be? Absolutely. For a camera that is priced less than $1500, it delivers. PERIOD.M.S.SondeyOwner[@]

 
A very good camera for the starting pro
By Sebastian AlvarezVerified Purchaser from Raleigh, NC on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Good microphone, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, High quality stills, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Rigid shoulder pad, Touch screen
Best Uses:
Documentaries, HD Shooting, Movies/Short Films
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

In this camera you will not find the pro features of the $5000+ ones, but still you get a lot of bang for the buck. The multi-function ring is very useful, as is having the tiny monitor sitting on top of the viewfinder. The microphone is very good and it doesn't capture any tape noise as many HDV cameras do. If you are getting started as an event videographer, I think this is a great buy.
My only problems with this camera are that the LCD monitor doesn't display very good quality, especially when you don't look at it straight on, and it comes with the touch screen interface that Sony has in its consumer cameras, which to me is just a terrible design flaw. Not only it's difficult to operate while shooting, but also forces you to have to clean up the screen with lens cleaner every time you finish using it to clean all the fingerprints.
Also, the shoulder pad could be soft instead of rigid. But for a camera at this price, it is still very well worth the money.

It also takes great stills, which inherits from its younger brothers in the consumer line. 4.6 MP in widescreen looks quite excellent, and if you are recording video you can take up to 3 of them that go into the memory stick once you pause. While you are paused you can take as many as you want, or if you switch to the memory position you can also take 6.1 MP in 4:3.

Even though I prefer AVCHD as a format, I chose this camera over the Panasonic AG-HMC70U because the Panasonic doesn't have a ring, and when you have to operate focus manually and fast in an even you don't have time to go through joysticks and menus. With the Sony you would need to press a button to switch to manual (easy to get to) and then operate the ring.

All in all, a camera worth your hard earned money.

 
Great Product at a Great Price
By LotusespritVerified Purchaser from Greenville, SC on 12/2/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
HD Shooting, Sporting Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

We bought this camera for an ESPN basketball tournament project in Orlando this past week and it worked great. Very easy to use controls and the zoom function is very smooth.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WORKED OUT VERY WELL !
By BILLUKEVerified Purchaser from NEW CUMBERLAND,Pa. on 12/1/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Versatile
Best Uses:
Any type of project
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

OK I just did a wedding on Saturday,and here is my opinion of the 1000U.I shot the wedding in a small church so the camera was about 40 ft from the alter.I had all controls on the 1000U set at AUTO.The camera had very natural color balance and the picture was nice and sharp.( I used no lighting other than the church lights )Anytime I did a zoom or pan,the camera never once went out of focus or had any color shifting in it.As far as AUDIO,The onboard mic picked up very well,but there was some handeling noise when I touched the tripod or camera.Nothing too distracting,but I would suggest getting a remote for these tasks.The bottom line is if you need a prosunmer camcorder and you only have [$]to spend It's worth every dime,and I researched every camera out there for 2 months before getting this one. And B&H is a great store to purchase it from.Excellent customer service and shipping.You won't be sorry getting the 1000U from B & H.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Poor quality
By anthonyVerified Reviewer from NJ on 11/3/2008
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Image noise, Low-Quality Recordings, Poor in low light, Uncomfortable
Best Uses:
Amateur, Where light is bright
Describe Yourself:
Pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This is not a camera for home use; it's look and size are made it for pro use. However, because of the poor quality ( lots of noise in low light, only one control at a time, etc), this camera does not fit the requirements for pro work.In addition, the hand strap will eventually brake ( because the camera is heavy) and there won't be a way to hold the camera. Some people don't like the mic, well, this is the only thing that can be fixed in post production.Some say the camera is good for events and weddings, yes if there is enought light. I bought two units and sold them; I am happy there is [...].,,,, I really don't understand the 62 positive reviews.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
So far So good
By TonyVerified Purchaser from Collinsville Il on 10/30/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Could use a larger LCD
Best Uses:
Documentaries
Describe Yourself:
Video Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I only gave it 4 stars at this time because I have only done preliminary testing. It appears to be everything I was looking for. I will be using it to create a church documentory as well as creating short church videos for our contemporay service.

 
wonderful HVR-HD 1000u
By hunterVerified Purchaser from pomeroy, ohio on 10/28/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Editing, HD Shooting, Home Movies, Movies/Short Films, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This is an awesome machine. It is easy to operate with the menu right in front of your face. A highly recommended camcorder for the professional videographors.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pro Quality at a Consumer Price
By PaulVerified Purchaser from Kinston, NC on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Documentaries, HD Shooting, Movies/Short Films
Describe Yourself:
Video Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I am thoroughly pleased with my Sony HD 1000U. It has exceeded my expectations especially since it is HD capable. It has just about every type of cabling connection that one could dream of. I strongly recommed purchasing the DXA 2S Dual XLR adapter. This add-on alone instantly transforms this camera from Semi-pro to Pro due to the XLR true-stereo jacks. I also purchased the NPF970 battery. That's a 12-hour battery, and it hasn't let me down yet after multiple hours of taping. Finally, I found B & H to be extremely helpful and professional. They answered all of my questions and recommended exactly the camera that would fit my needs and budget.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
AMAZING IMAGE!!!
By zfilmsVerified Purchaser from Veracruz, Mexico on 10/6/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound
Cons:
Poor Battery Life
Best Uses:
Documentaries, HD Shooting, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Videographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I just purchased this camera and I love it! I can shoot amazing images!! This camera is very good for events, weddings and sports

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good product
By Daniel MoraisVerified Purchaser from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on 9/15/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Home Movies
Describe Yourself:
Video Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

The 1080i HDV record option is the best feature of this camera, other than that is huge handycam. The ring is a plus, but you can use only one function at a time, so if you want to change functions, you have to go to a quick menu.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
great works perfect
By jmtVerified Purchaser from dixon ca. on 9/7/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

i use this camcorder for weddings and works good

 
GOOD CAMERA
By 007WESTVerified Purchaser from ENCINO CA on 9/5/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Flimsy Construction
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

LIGHTWEIGHT AND RELIABLE... LONG BATTERY LIFE!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Caveats when using Super Steady Shot
By EagleTVProductions[@]Verified Reviewer from Lexington, SC on 8/26/2008
Pros:
CMOS image is nice, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Manual iris is "notched"
Best Uses:
Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

HVR-HD1000U users note:
When your video starts "moving" when you are not moving the camera, you may have a complex or weirdly lit background that is causing havoc with the Super Steady Shot function. Simply turn off Super Steady Shot feature, and the "moving video" problem ends. Frankly, if you're shooting from a tripod, you don't really need Super Steady Shot unless you're shooting at full zoom from a rickety stage you encounter with events at hotels, etc.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
You get what you pay for
By AndreaVerified Purchaser from New York on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I use this camera for wedding and event videography. I needed a cheap camera, quick. For the price, it is a decent HD camera. If you want an over the shoulder camera, this is fitting. However, the Standard shooting quality is poor compared to cheaper, 3CCD cameras. So basically, if you are looking for cheap HDV with an over the shoulder size, I'd recommend it. Otherwise, invest an extra grand and get a better SONY camera.

 
Fantastic Camera for the money
By JoeyVerified Purchaser from Santa Barbara Ca. on 8/18/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls
Cons:
Poor Sound
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

The Sony HVR-HD1000U is fantastic Camera. I have used it for everything from Weddings, Corporate Meetings to Television commercial. It is a Fantastic HDV deck for my Sony HVR Z1U and its a added bonus to my video production company.

 
Great Camera for a Great Price
By INTEGRITY MEDIAVerified Purchaser from VANCOUVER, WASHINGTON on 8/10/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I purchased this camera do to my migration to HD and while its my first CMOS camera I must give it five stars simply because it fits my needs to the TEE. This camera is designed as a shoulder mount camera, however you would think that it is heavy and clumbsy, its not, it handles like a true SONY and it very flexible, despite all the missing manual controls on the outside, (its menu driven )My principal use for this camera is Wedding and Corporate video, and I am very satisfied with both the product and B&H [...]

 
A lot of camera for the money
By DSBVerified Purchaser from Beverly, MA on 8/7/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Poor Battery Life
Best Uses:
Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

In use by public access cable TV station for event coverage. Good imaging, reasonably comfortable for hand held work. Needs eyepiece diopter adjustment or I just have not found it yet. Construction not overly sturdy. Great menu operation by using touch screen. Perfect for volunteer access users who are not pros.

 
Fantastic Camera
By NU Life FilmzVerified Purchaser from KY on 8/7/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I immediately started using this camera and was blown away. Great professional look. I heard other review about the focus ring. Once you set your settings, you're pretty good to go. I am using this right now on a documentary project. Sound is ok. I think I will purchase the xlr adapter later. Sony batteries are onky compatible with this. [...]

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
consumer, not prosumer
By StringgerVerified Purchaser from Oregon on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Great Picture Quality
Cons:
Flimsy Construction
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This camera records a great HDV picture. Step Down to dv is complicated. My biggest concern is
the camera is not rugged enough to hold up for very long if used professionally.

 
Simply perfect at low cost!
By LincxVerified Purchaser from Redlands, CA on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I got it 2 weeks before and since this i have experienced a new dimension in film making. I recomend for all!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best HDV camera for the Price !!
By JohnsVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 7/26/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Flimsy microphone fitting
Best Uses:
Family, Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I bought this camera as soon as it’s arrived in the market. So far this camera performed well. If you are looking for an affordable HDV camera to shoot “Run with A gun” style events, this is the number one choice. You will get good pictures with minimum settings. This one is a great product for someone just getting into the business with tight budget. You won’t regret about the money which you paid for this camera.

[13 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Camcorder for a dedicated video shooter
By andrewVerified Reviewer from New York on 7/25/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Low-Quality Recordings
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I've been using this camcorder for almost four months now, and it still keeps my creative juices flowing, which means it is a good camcorder. The way it's made and the way it looks encourages me to go out there and make some videos. I think this is very important. I realize that the HD1000U is basically an HC7 or HC9 Handycam in a big shoulder mount body, but I'd rather spend my money on a piece of electronics that is well made than a small light plasticky feeling Handycam.

Anyway, let me describe the HD1000U in a bit more detail. The most important thing in any video camera should be the picture quality. Unfortunately, this camera is quite challenging to achieve a good picture. The low light capability of this camcorder is poor. The camera basically makes good videos without noise only in bright daylight. If the light is just a little compromised, the noise creeps in very quickly. There should be a way to prevent this by turning off the Auto Gain on the camcorder, but I unfortunately I wasn't able to find any manual gain control on this camcorder. I should be able to control the noise level by adjusting AE shift or exposure (yes, AE and exposure are two separate parameter in this camcorder). If I reduce the exposure, it makes the image darker, but it also seems to get rid of the noise a bit. There is a gain monitor when the tape is played back, which is probably too late, after the fact, after the picture has already been recorded. I haven't had a chance to check yet if the gain is actually reduced when I reduce the exposure on the camcorder. This is something I still need to play with, until I figure out my optimum settings.

Now, the HD1000U has a lot of parameters, which is a great thing. For the money, you get an amazing array of parameters. I don't really care that the parameters are accessed mostly through the menu. It is not as cumbersome as it may sound. As long as the parameter that I need is available, I don't really care if it available at one button touch or through navigating the menu. By the way, there is an option to customize the menu, so you can lay out the many in such a way, that the parameters you need the most will be available at the top level menu.

When it comes to the sound level of the recording, it can be manually adjusted, which is very good. I was able to record directly for an audio mixer to the camcorder, and the quality of the recording came out very good. But of course, I had to monitor closely through headphones, to make sure that the sound is not clipping. It is very important, because clipping in digital domain makes quite nasty distortion.

All in all, I am very please with this camcorder. It keeps me interested in video making, and that's what's most important, I think. A small plastic handycam would discourage me from making videos. On the contrary, the HD1000U keeps me dedicated and motivated to make more videos.

I highly recommend Sony UWP wireless UHF microphone for this camcorder. The quality of the sound coming out of that microphone is simply stunning. And yeah, another advantage of a big size of this camcorder is that there's actually space to mount somewhere the microphone transmitter.

I also added the Beachtek XLR adapter, so that I can connect the Audio Technica 897 shotgun microphone. The Beachtek adapter ads so much functionality. I can record a line level signal from an audio mixer, as well as I can record in mono mode. So, I highly recommend the Beachtek adapter. Well, there is a bit of the noise from the adapter, but I believe the noise is from the camcorder's preamps instead of the adapter itself.

The reason that I would not recommend this camcorder to a friend, is that none of my friends seem to be interested in video making. All of them prefer little handycams, so I figure there's nothing to talk about with folks like that.

And lastly, when I am in the field with this camera, I get a great amount of respect from people. I remember, when I was shooting this reunion at my college, all the pro photographers were checking with me if I don't mind if they take a picture here and there. I mean, that's a great amount of respect for the professionals. So, the camera is worth the price, isn't it?

Note: If you decide to get the HD1000U, I hardly recommend getting Sony GV-HD700 VTR. The HD1000U is simply too big to haul it every time I need to transfer the video to a computer. HD700 is a fantastic companion for the HD1000U. And also, the Sony VCT-1170RM tripod works really well with the camcorder. The camcorder balances well on that tripod and the lanc controller works perfectly.

I recommend the following accessories for the camcorder:
Sony GV-HD700 VTR,
Sony HVL-LBP LED light,
Sony UWP-X1 UHF microphone,
Sony VCL-HG0737C wide angle converter,
Cavision LH-77 hood for VCL-HG0737Y (it fits on the VCL-HG0737C with a 71 mm vacuum cleaner drive belt as a seal, no kidding), Tiffen 82mm Video Essentials DV Kit 3 for Cavision LH-77 filter thread,
Beachtek DXA-2S XLR adapter,
Sony VCT-1170RM tripod,
Audio Technica 897 microphone,
Sony PHDVM-63DM tapes,
Sony NP-F970 battery.

 
Like you said, very good and affordable.
By Tito mariVerified Purchaser from Cancun, Qroo., Mexico on 7/24/2008
Pros:
Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I's been a great help, like a support camera in the wedding's field, one very stable and fine image camcorder, the size of the eye piece and wide screen are ideal for the job.

Thanks

 
Lightweight, full featured HDV Camera
By Mitch TVerified Purchaser from Roanoke, VA on 7/23/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Poor Battery Life
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This camera looks like the real deal in size and design and fits great on your shoulder or on a tripod. While it is much lighter in weight than it looks, the touchscreen interface and programmable lens ring make it easy to make quick and precise adjustments. We paired it with a mid-priced bogen tripod for a super smooth shooting setup.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Woot Woot
By KyleVerified Purchaser from Rochester, NY on 7/22/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls
Cons:
Poor Sound
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I truly enjoy this camera. I was hesitant purchasing a camera with such a tiny touch screen menu that looks like you need to poke it with a pencil tip to make work, but it really is impressive how functional it is with fingertips. I love that I found an HD camera for such a reasonable price. Great product for someone just getting into the business and on a budget.

Service & Delivery comments:

Phenomenal delivery time, it showed up two days earlier than I had expected. There are a ton of websites to shop at online, none of which I trust like BandH.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Camera for the price
By BernieVerified Reviewer from High Point, NC on 7/13/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Picture Quality, Versatile
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I really have a hard time reading all the criticism about this camera. I bought two because I am very happy with it and we recorded numerous weddings. The picture quality is simply amazing for the money. And the sound in 16-bit is totally acceptable (you get what you pay for, duh). Contrary to one review, the remote connection to a tripod hancle works perfect. The menu really needs to get used to, again, remember the price.If you want PERFECT, then spend [$]on PERFECT!!!!!! I spent [$]on 2 of these cameras and never looked back.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not Bad for the Money
By BSPIN Media GroupVerified Purchaser from Dalllas, Texas on 7/7/2008
Pros:
Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Nice professional look, Versatile
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Poor Battery Life, Uncomfortable
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Use for events, sports, weddings, short films. Quality of images great. Not so great in dim light. Need to use additional lighting in low light. It's still a great deal for the money for HDV shooting.

 
Best deal for the money!
By Tony - The Hick Trek GuyVerified Purchaser from Nashville, TN on 7/7/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Versatile
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This camera does it all... down to color AND black & white viewfinder (that's a $1500 upgrade on the XL-2!) It has the "film look" feature, very cool but you have to dig to find it in the menu. The camera looks good too (nice for impressing wedding folks.) I put a powerful light on the front, and a FS-4 DV recorder on the back. Taking photos WHILE shooting video is fantastic.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great camara for the price
By chinoVerified Purchaser from puerto rico on 7/6/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Family, Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

nice camara for wedding , great photo when you use the photo button, for thr price i paid i consider a good deal , but if you are looking to do prpfessional videos i will save a little more and buy one that has 24f 30f 60f , overall its a good camara for the price. i will recommended[$]

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This Camcorder is perfect for Weddings
By ProMindzVerified Purchaser from Brooklyn on 7/6/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Versatile
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I've Shot a couple weddings with this cam is it's great.

[6 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sony......Best Bang for the Buck
By Timeless Memories VideographyVerified Reviewer from San Antonio, TX on 7/6/2008
Pros:
Auto settings are perfect, Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, HD downconvert to SD A, Onboard battery charger, Professional looking, Professional picture, Shoots HD on mini DV tape, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
NONE FOUND
Best Uses:
Commercials, Movies/Short Films, Music Videos, Special Events, Sports, Training Videos, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I have had this model camera for over 6 months now with out any problems what-so-ever. I see all these people complaining about it not being all that......I say they are wrong. This camera FAR surpass's ANY camera from ANY maker at more than twice it's price. My suggestion to the people who don't like it or are too picky, buy that over priced unit and stop dissing on this camera. It's sturdy, very easy to operate, the automatic settings are superior, nice zoom capabilities, AMAZING picture quality if you know what your doing, etc....etc.... The factory shotgun mic may not be up to some people's standards, but if your a TRUE pro, you use a wireless set up anyway. I like the fact that the wireless system plugs right into the factory mic plug in. The ring can be programmed to do just about anything that the big cameras can do, even better than some. The factory battery may only last 6 hours, but that's alot when you look at the XL2 that I had. It's battery only lasted 45 min. Now that's a shame. If you own one of those expensive overpriced units, the I suggest that you don't downgrade to this unit unless you do what I did. I sold my overpriced junk and bought 2 of these and have not regreted it for one second. What really hooked me in was the fact that it records HD on regular mini DV tapes. No more overpriced HDminiDV tapes at 10 bucks a pop.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Think twice before you buy this
By Arctic SunriseVerified Reviewer from Fairbanks, Alaska on 7/5/2008
Pros:
Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Low tech sound inputs, Poor Sound, Very big in size
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I am a documentry film maker, on the move all the time. Have been using this camera, every single day for last 2 months... The picture quality is great and operations simple. But that comes at a very high price. This camera is so flimsy, so huge and sound quality not adequate at all, that I have been disappointed more than once for my decision to buy this one. Its cheap. But then you will have to buy a better microphone. Then you will have to get one adapter to use that microphone and then something else.. the list goes on. Plus, it doesnt allow you to use the remote from tripod handle, thats another disappointment. And it wont fit in no case with lens hood and mic etc. You'll have to worry about lugging around a lot of stuff, unless ofcourse as they say its good for wedding videos and you just stick to it.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Looks like you mean bussiness
By VideoheidihoVerified Reviewer from Wayland, Michigan on 6/28/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Average sound
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I will be using this camera for weddings and school events, such as sporting events,concerts, and assemblies. These are my observasions after a week of thourough taesting.

I like that I can switch the LCD on & off, without affecting the viewfinder. I am a left eye shooter, and was pleased to find that by turning the eye cup around, I could film comfortably using my left eye in the viewfinder. This alone was worth the price of the camera to me.

My favorite feature is the manual button located on the bottom left side, below the viewfinder. One 3 second push brings up a list of features to choose from. These features are listed both in the viewfinder, and on the LCD if you prefer. Just turn the focus ring to select the control you want, push the manual button again, and use the focus ring to adjust that function as needed. It sounds more complicated than it is. I tested this several times, with focus, shutter speed, and exposure. After a few tries to get familiar with it,I found it to be quick and simple without ever taking my eye out of the viewfinder. I switched functions several times, and tried various settings for each. Again my eye never left the viewfinder. You can also adjust which function is selected as the default function. Mine is exposure, that way when I press the manual control button, exposure is the highlighted function on the list that appears. This means that two quick pushes of the manual control button, gives me instant access to exposure control with the focus ring. I could then ratate the ring quickly in either direction, displaying the full range of exposure, up or down. By far this is the easiest and quickest exposure adjustment I have used. The same is true for all the other functions that appear in the list.

My other favorite feature is the fact there are two accessory shoes. One front, and one rear. I mounted a light with barndoors on the front, and an LCD with hood on the rear. Then placed the camera on a Davis Sannford provista tripod, with an FM 18 fluid head. I added a Lanc handle controloller to one of the tripod handles, and looked like a hoolywood production crew. If you want to look pro without spendeing a bunch, this camera certainly qualifies. Especially with the black finish, setting on a black tripod. My wife said I looked like I was from the local news station.

I really can't say there is anything I'm dissapointed with in this camera. It has many more great features, too numerous to mention here. It's not the best camera out there, but for the price and the features, not to mention the picture quality, you would be hard pressed to do better. I compared this camera very closely with the Panasonic AG-HMC70. The HMC70 didn't facsilitate using my left eye in the viewfinder.

Previous & current cameras I Have Owned are as follows. Zenith VM-7050 VHS, Panasonic AG-456 S-VHS, JVC GR-DVF10 mini DV x4, JVC GR-DV800 mini DV x2, Sony DCR-TRV 730 & 740 digital 8, Canon optura 20 mini DV, Canon Optura xi mini DV x2, Sony VX1000 mini DV, Panasonic GS-250 mini DV, Panasonic GS-500 mini DV x2. I like this sony HVR-HD1000U the best.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comfortable - menu is almost unusable
By Wes the wedding videographerVerified Purchaser from Murfreesboro, TN on 6/25/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable
Cons:
Menu
Best Uses:
Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Great for long recordings when shoulder mounted, balance is a bit off when using a tripod.

Shotgun microphone mount can not be easily removed and so it sits empty often

 
Great camera for the price
By Inferno ProductionsVerified Purchaser from Shreveport,LA on 6/20/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Poor Sound
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I use this product for just about anything. I intend to use it for nature and sorts videography.This is a great low priced camera. The only thing I recomend is a new and better shotgun mic.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Bang for your Buck!
By Johnny Z IIIVerified Purchaser from Cleveland OH on 6/19/2008
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality
Cons:
Focus is in meters, Poor Sound
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This is a great camera for any budget minded videographer or film student. This camera looks pro and has impressed all who have seen it. Fill the hot shoes with accessories and you'll look even cooler. The picture quality blew me away when I hooked the unit up to my 65" TV. Video easily transfers to Sony Vegas and a 2:3 pull down can be done in the software to give it that 24p look that is missing. Plenty depth-of-field on the long end of the lens. Make sure to adjust the shoulder support to fit your shoulder or it will feel awkward. The menu driven system is not as complex as some would make you think. One thing that has not been mentioned that bugs me a little, is the fact the focus is in meters.

 
Great Camcorder , Best price.
By Cristiano OliveiraVerified Purchaser from Brazil, Petrópolis, Rio de Janeiro on 6/19/2008
Pros:
Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls
Cons:
Uncomfortable
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I use this unit for weddings, concerts, seminars etc. It is easy to use, the autofocus is fast in most lighting conditions. Because alot of the controls are in a menu on the touchscreen LCD it is easy to teach my assistants .Because I am accustomed to professional video cams, that said touch screen is a slight bother to me. I am always serching for buttons on the camera body by habit only to realise I have to goto menu.
I could only wish for a tougher body in this unit. The video quality is great in SD and HD.
Audio quality is good.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Black Beauty
By WifeyVerified Purchaser from Florida on 6/17/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I bought this camera for my husband's birthday and he has been on a "high" ever since. He has not used it as yet, because he needs some gears to go along with it, but he puts it on my dining table every day and shines it up with a smile.

 
Great camera with medicore battery life
By The SmuhVerified Purchaser from Sterling Heights, MI on 6/6/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Poor Battery Life
Best Uses:
Church events, Rail videos, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I have been pleased with my purchase especially after watching the video on an HDTV. The picture quality is excellent.

The camera is easy to use and the second set of controls (record button and zoom) on the handle make it very versatile.

I would recommend getting a second battery. This camera seems to eat through them pretty quickly. It could be that the included battery does not have much of a lifespan to begin with.

 
Pro Look - Pro Results
By Jeff EmeryVerified Purchaser from NW Ohio, USA on 6/4/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Corporate, PromotionalMarketing, Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Previously I had used Sony VX2100's for all my production work but the time has come to go to a HD camera and also shoot in the wide screen format. This camera fills the bill for me. It's larger than I expected it to be but not too big. The multi-function ring is pretty easy to understand and use. It shoots great video. I thought the video was much more impressive than the VX's I had been using. I expect to be buying another HVR HD1000 in the near future.

 
I'd purchase again all things considered
By Spider Man PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Coeur d Alene, ID on 6/4/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Descent battery life, Descent sound recording, Good stable images, Great Picture Quality, Makes you look good, Simple Controls
Cons:
Eye piece a little low, Flimsy Construction, I want more ext buttons, No zoom ring - booooo, Too many screen controls
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I use for small version video production projects, weddings, gymnastic home shows, etc.
Certainly gives one a look of professionality.
It's a bit larger than is comfortable to wield in a more relaxed, outdoor environment.
For the price, you are more than being compensated for it's few weaknesses.
A very powerful tool to say the least.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
HVR_HD1000U
By Hawaii GuyVerified Purchaser from Honolulu, Hawaii on 6/3/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable
Cons:
Complicated To Operate
Best Uses:
Family
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

The product does what it says but does not compare in image quality to 3 chip FX, V1, Z1 cameras. The picture is best in even, bright lighting situations. Difficult to adjust settings with the menu-based controls. Still, it has worked well as 2nd/3rd cameras on closeup or medium shots

 
Great for the videographer on a budget
By def from USA on 6/2/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Poor Sound
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

As a digital filmmaker with little funds this camera has worked great. Picture quality is surprisingly good for one chip when there is good light. People used to the manual options on a higher level camera might be a bit underwhelmed by the touchscreen menu and I wish there were XLR outputs. But then again, adding these options would up the price of the camera and defeat the whole purpose. People moving up from consumer cameras will love how easy the camera is to use and professional look. Be aware that the camera only shoots 1080 interlaced HDV, you won't be able to achieve 24p during shooting. If you purchase the camera make sure you get a beachtek XLR adapter.

For all its faults, this camera is a fantastic value and I recommend it to anybody on a tight budget.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Professional look, good video quality
By siliconchefVerified Purchaser from Loganville, GA on 6/2/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Versatile
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I've used this camera on two shoots so far, and I am glad I bought it.

The good: professional look (people thought I was from the local news), two accessory shoes (wireless+light at the same time), takes higher capacity pro batteries, good video quality, shoulder mount is adjustable

The bad: nose-heavy (makes it a little hard to use on the tripod), camera says 20X zoom on the body but it's only 10X optical (still nice lens), feels a little lighter than it should, too many items in touch-screen menus

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best H.D. Camcorder for the B&H Price
By VideomanVerified Purchaser from Woodridge,IL on 5/26/2008
How long have you owned it:
One-to-three months
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This is the Best Camcorder Sony has come out with. It has the looks of a more expensive one and people will see that you know what you'r doing. You'll get a lot more business when they see you with this one. A perfect second unit for two camera shooting. If you'r looking for a H.D. camcorder, then get one of these from B&H. You can't go wrong.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Looks Alright
By Eric the manVerified Purchaser from Birmingham, Al on 5/19/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Great Sound, Simple Controls
Cons:
Low-Quality Recordings, Uncomfortable
Best Uses:
Family, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

We are using this product to create promotional video and we are getting a lot more noise in the image than we expected for the price of the camera and it's specs. The zoom is definitely not as smooth as I hoped for.

 
Very good for the price
By Garnet UrbanStudiosVerified Reviewer from Rep. Trinidad & Tobago on 5/15/2008
How long have you owned it:
Three-to-six months
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls
Cons:
Needs tougher body
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I use this unit for weddings, concerts, seminars etc. It is easy to use, the autofocus is fast in most lighting conditions. Because alot of the controls are in a menu on the touchscreen LCD it is easy to teach my assistants to use the unit because they are accustomed to smaller sony camcorders with the same features. Because I am accustomed to professional video cams, that said touch screen is a slight bother to me. I am always serching for buttons on the camera body by habit only to realise I have to goto menu.
I could only wish for a tougher body in this unit. The video quality is great in SD and HD.
Audio quality is good and I use an XLR adaptor.

 
Great for the price
By EdVerified Purchaser from Sacramento Ca. on 5/12/2008
How long have you owned it:
One-to-three months
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Versatile
Best Uses:
Family, Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I like the programable touch screen as it was simmular to my other camcorder. The programable ring gives me more flexability with the manual focus, zoom, exposure and shutter speed.

Mic bracket flimsey

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product
By edenjoVerified Purchaser from Sacramento,Ca on 5/2/2008
How long have you owned it:
One-to-three months
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, light weight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Family, Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

A great affordable step up from my HDR-HC5. The touch screen works simular to the HC5 so learning the sutup was easy.The assignable ring made the sale. I can use it in my NLE as with the other camera( now I can do 2 camera shoots).
Shotgun mike support is flimsey. But with 2 shoes I can put a wireless mike and LED light on the housing.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy Enough for a Professor to Use
By Egghead GuyVerified Purchaser from Kentucky on 5/1/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls
Cons:
Sensitive to Humidity
Best Uses:
Field Research
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This camera met the "PhD" test that I have for all electronics -- "push here dummy." I used the camera for the first time to record 26 field research interviews in Cambodia, and it worked well. The moisture shut-off feature is a bit sensitive and burdensome in a tropical climate, but I'm sure it saved me from myself. I had to work in time for the camera to adjust from AC environments to humid field locales. The touch-screen menu is exceptionally easy to use, and the LCD screen flips 180 so your subject can watch themselves on replay or real time (a nice feature for putting interview subjects at ease). I used the tapes B&H recommended and the quality was excellent. Transfer via firewire to my MacBook Pro was seamless. As a true non-professional, non-geek camera user, I can say that this was an excellent choice for my needs in the field.

 
I LUV it, very nice camera for the money
By DanVerified Purchaser from Ontario, CA on 4/30/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Special Events, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Another great camera from SONY, every videographer
should have it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for the price
By 20 year vetVerified Purchaser from South Carolina on 4/29/2008
How long have you owned it:
One-to-three months
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Versatile
Best Uses:
Special Events, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I bought this camera as a "back up" to have around in case one of my Sony 250's died while I was on a shoot. This is a great camera. The image edits together well with the Sony 250. In fact I've recently shot several commercials for broadcast television using it... they look great on air.
The only downside I've found is it feels a bit light and is "very plastic"... but what do you expect for the money?
I've always been a Sony camera fan.. My motto has always been "ONLY ON SONY", and this entry level camera does not dissapoint.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazingly easy to use and efficient.
By Denny Dey Independent Film ProductionVerified Purchaser from Lenexa, Kansas on 4/29/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Family, Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I use the HVR-HD1000U for close up and personal interviews and I couldn't be happier with its ease use and the high quality output of the 1/3 inch cmos sensor. The touch screen list of available options is fast and user friendly and the audio is strong and clear. The clarity is so complete under correct lighting that I am able to switch from HDV to DV and still gain great color readings and crystal clear definition.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Hard to beat
By Millenium JoeVerified Purchaser from Saint Louis, MO on 4/20/2008
How long have you owned it:
One-to-three months
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I use this product when shooting weddings

Things that are great: The automation is actually very accurate, leaves me with less to worry about. Its bigger than it has to be, which works for the better, people that know nothing of the technology assume its high dollar because its bigger, so it makes good impressions. The real favorite feature here is the dual cold shoes. This lets me carry the light, and a wireless rig at the same time. Comes with a shotgun, its decent but a little noisy. Voice comes in very clear however. Vertical smear is almost non existent, night shots are about average, the night vision mode is handy when your shooting permits it. The shoulder rest is another favorite feature, makes shoulder mounted shooting a breeze. The programmable ring is handy, although I rarely find my self using it due to the accuracy of the automation.


Not so great: Camera is very back heavy, making tripod shooting a little difficult. The included shotgun doesn't work with the XLR adapter accessory, or anything else for that matter. The collar holding the shotgun can be a little weak, due mainly to the fact that its means of support is a rubber washer about 1/8" thick and a metal washer about 1-2 mm thick. The lens is much smaller than most cameras in this price range, but works just as well. The low light shots can tend to be a little on the noisy side, but nothing terrible.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
CONSUMER +
By speedormsVerified Purchaser from milan, mi. on 4/18/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Diopter not quite enough, GOOD pix IF lit well, LONG battery life, LOOKS GOOD pro styled, PRICE is reasonable, Versatile
Cons:
Cheapo shoulder pad, NOISY tape transport, One speed handle zoom, Poor sensitivity, Small lens apeture
Best Uses:
Family, Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Travel, WELL LIT scenes
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

The cam is a reasonable value for the money, but low light is not great. i own a vx-2000 and have been spoiled perhpaps. also its tough to balance costs and features, and this cam has a reasonable array of 'pro' fluff... especially the VU meters and the flip-out viewfinder.

Impressive size and light weight [try hauling around older full-size SVHS industurial cam sometime], but the shoulder 'pad' leaves a LOT to be desired.

Perhaps i need more exposure to HD cams to see how they fare in comparison to the 1000.

The transport needs better much improved sound damping... its shockingly loud as the plastic case resonates with the fast forward/rewind... and this does NOT give the impression of quality. I can see this possibly being a problem on a shoot should this feature be used and the noise distracts the clients or others, especially at weddings.

Lots to like and nit-pick. Can not recommend for/against and suggest that you evaluate this cam in your setting. Sony tried to give a lot of bang for the buck.. so carry light with this cam and you might be wholly thrilled.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Still Getting Used To It
By John GibbonsVerified Reviewer from Dallas, Texas on 4/17/2008
How long have you owned it:
One-to-three months
Pros:
Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Versatile
Cons:
Complicated To Operate, Uncomfortable
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Great image! Nice rich colors and loads of detail.

I don't like that I can't have both maunal focus and exposure at the same time, but the auto modes work really well. The viewfinder could extend out a little further and the menu navigation is somewhat involved, but with practice I should get faster. I would have liked at least an external white balance button and a built in ND filter, but for the price, I'm not complaining ( I just have to remember to take the filter off inside!).

Hello B&W viewfinder!!!! Man I missed you! I suggest everybody who owns this thing turns the color off in the viewfinder. Worth the price of the camera alone.

I was very impressed with the sound from the Beacktek adapter. I dumped the Sony shotgun for my Rode and when used in conjunction with my wireless the sound was great.

I've done 4 jobs in the last month and a half as a freelancer/second cameraman so it's pretty much paid for itself (I don't do video full time) and I'm looking at getting either a second one of these or one of the new tapeless Panasonic's when it comes out.

All in all, not bad for an entry level HD camera.

 
HD At Its Simple Best
By Jimmy B.Verified Purchaser from Wilmington, North Carolina on 4/16/2008
How long have you owned it:
One-to-three months
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commercials, Corporate Videos, Movies/Short Films, Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

The HVR-HD 1000U's usefulness and capabilities has gotten me so much work I'm going to be buying two more of them in the very near future! It should be considered the 'workhorse' of the industry, if it already isn't! I'm doing an EPK for a feature film now, and the filmmakers have all ogled over what it can do.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
More than expected
By Friction MediaVerified Purchaser from CT on 4/11/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Special Events, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I am very impressed with this camera. I use it for weddings, promotional videos, interviews, and it has been a great investment. It is not going to be confused with any higher end camera in terms of manual control or features but for what it is geared towards, it excels. This camera was made with videographers in mind. Everything is quick and easy to find thanks to that touch screen feature. The Carl Zeiss lens looks great and has impressive DOF. It struggles in low light but no more than the Canon's I've used. The HDV looks great even though it is interlaced. The single cmos picture is comparable to the Canon HV20 but the shoulder mount style gives it balance and a professional look. If you are an event videographer you can't go wrong with this camera for the price. The one problem I've found was when using the manual focus the camera freezes when the zoom is all the way out. I have to remove the battery to reset the camera. It happens to both of the cameras I own. I was concerned about not having XLR inputs but with a mini stereo adapter my wireless mic still sounds great. After being a faithful Canon user I am definitely taken in by this Sony product.

 
Look Professional Charged MORE!
By DAV from West Coast on 4/7/2008
How long have you owned it:
One-to-three months
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Complicated To Operate, Poor Sound
Best Uses:
Family, Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

As they say its not what you have its how you use it. If it wasn't good sony wouldn't sell it and if you should have any complaints why in the business if you can't afford the more quality handheld cameras. Not more to say... ITS GOOD FOR WHAT ITS IS NOT FOR WHAT YOU WANT IT TO BE.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great camera for the price!
By Gonz67 from Miami, Florida on 3/10/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Durable, Great Picture Quality, Versatile
Cons:
Complicated To Operate
Best Uses:
Lower end events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I received my Sony VX1000 this Thursday, and put it into service this Saturday. I bought it as a backup from my Canon GL2, and wouldn’t you know it, the day of the event my zoom went down. I have been in the business for a few years now so I knew not to let them see me sweat. As I pulled out my Sony VX1000, the first thing that one of the relatives said was “Wow that is a great camera.” Ok, this is important; I truly believe that size DOES matter. I have read plenty of postings from other videographers who say that they can pull out their mini-camcorder with it’s ½ CMOS chip (such as the excellent Canon HV30), and with their aura of professionalism pull it off. With all due respect, I think that is wrong. Bottom line, the bride or Bar Mitzvah mom does NOT want to see you walking around with a video camera the same size of the one Uncle Robert has. Yes one can dress it up with an external mic, light and brackets, but it is still a mini camcorder. You need to show them you are serious about shooting their event by bringing equipment that looks serious. This camera is solidly built, and was not too heavy. I had read from someone that they thought the construction was flimsy. I don’t understand how they can say that.
Now let us talk picture quality. In my opinion the picture resolution was just as good as my Canon GL2. The color was not as good, but not bad for a single chip. In low light, you quickly realize that this ain’t the VX2000 or VX2100. But I use a good 50 watt light during my parties, and had no problems. During the personal messages, I found I had to stand back a little father, but that was not too much of a problem.
Ok, if you are a weekend warrior like myself, and have a low end package, this camera is for you. A nervous bride that is worried that she got an armature videographer will take one look at you with this camera, and start worrying about something else. For all you guys turning your nose up at this fine piece of equipment, go out and spend the 5g’s on that other camera.

 
Very good entry-level professional
By TomVVerified Reviewer from Boulder, Colorado on 3/9/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

This is an excellent camera for the market segment it is after. It is not something you will probably want if you are a higher-end professional. But if you need a good, shoulder-mount, relatively inexpensive camera with some slightly limited manual controls, this is hard to beat.

I have found the performance and quality to be excellent. I am happy to have a microphone port, so I can use lavalier mics with it. (I found the shotgun mic to perform adequately, but it picks up too much from the sides).

The built in HDMI is a bonus.

Combined with some professional HD tape, this camera works like a champ!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
good camera but great for the money
By BrianVerified Reviewer from NC on 3/8/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Great Picture Quality, Great price, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Needs weight for balance, Poor Sound
Best Uses:
Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I've had the camera about 2 weeks now and the pictures it produces are awesome. I had a lot of reservation about the CMOS processor vs the 3ccd processors in cameras I've had in the past and my opinion is the clarity of this camera is much better and the colors are about equal to a similar 3ccd camera. You can connect the camera's HDMI output directly to an HD tv and the picture clarity is stunning. Of course the technology is lagging to create great HD material but this camera is absolutely incredible compared to some other consumer cameras I've owned in the past. The same picture quality may be available in a smaller camera but the shoulder mount gives you a much more stable platform to operate from, especially when you are moving around a lot. One drawback is the relatively light weight of the camera. More weight would actually be a good thing to help anchor it to your shoulder but as it is, it works just fine. The shotgun mic included on the camera is great by consumer standards and okay by professional standards. When I use it to capture stock footage, I keep the factory mic in because it is okay to capture background sounds. When I really want to single in on a voice, I've been using an external mic.
Bottom line, this is a great camera for the price. It produces excellent picture quality at a reasonable price. The shoulder mount is great for filming moving and changing action.

 
good looking guy!!!
By evolucionVerified Reviewer from Bellevue, WA on 3/3/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Great Sound, Look good, Simple Controls
Cons:
Feel cheap, Flimsy Construction, Poor Battery Life, Uncomfortable
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I do weddings and Quinceañeras so the light is a real problem and this camera is not too bad 4 lux, it has rich color and very useful features and looks great at more than 3 feet away jijiji, at very close view it's just sooooo cheap, if you turn on the night shot you can hear the ecoooo inside the cam, the lens is like my trv280, at the same time I got the DSR-PD170 no comments it's just perfect.
I almost send back the hd1000u but (i like this one) "The physical size and appearance also suggest a professional demeanor to the average onlooker."

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
PROFESSIONAL APPEARANCE GREAT PICTURE
By SPLECTRON from ST VINCENT WEST INDIES on 2/20/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Inadequate Features
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

GREAT PICTURE QUALITY,I DON'T LIKE THE RING THAT SERVES FOR FOCUS, ZOOM, SHUTTER SPEED AND EXPOSURE YOU HAVE TO HIT MENU TO SELECT WHAT PURPOSE THE RING SHOULD SERVE SOMETIMES I TRY TO ZOOM WITH THE RING FORGETTING I HAVE IT SET TO EXPOSURE BUT WHEN AJUSTING THE EXPOSURE WITH IT YOU CAN MAKE VERY FINE AJUSTMENTS WHICH IS REALLY COOL.BEING ABLE TO AJUST THE MIC LEVEL DURING RECORDING IS GREAT, LOVE THE TOUCH SCREEN BUT TO MUCH FEATURES IN THE MENU, TO MUCH NAVIGATING.I BOUGHT THE CAM. TWO WEEKS AGO CAME SAT FEB. 9TH. BUT IT CAN'T BEAT THE VX2100 ON LOW LIGHT, BUT IT DID WELL IN LOW LIGHT.I LOVE THE SHOULDER MOUNT TAKE ME BACK TO THE DAYS OF MY PANASONIC AG 455 & 456 LOVE THE BIG LENS HOOD MAKE THE CAM. LOOKS REALLY PRO. I HAVE BEING DOING VIDEO SINCE 1992. I OWNED MY OWN VIDEO PRODUCTION COMPANY AND PHOTO STUDIO SPLECTRON VIDEO & MAGIKGATE PHOTO SO I KNOW A GREAT CAM. WHEN I SEE ONE. THE PRICE IS GREAT FOR THE QUALITY. AM GOING TO BUY TWO MORE FOR SHOOTING MULTICAM EVENTS SUCH AS MUSIC VIDEOS, CONCERTS AND TV SHOWS I MAINLY DO WEDDINGS AND FUNERALS SOME COMMERCIALS NOW AND THEN . IF YOU'RE INTO EVENT VIDEOS THIS IS THE CAM. MAKE SURE YOU GET AN XLR MIC ADAPTER AND A HIGHER CAPACITY BATTERY, SOME GOOD MICs AND A HARD CASE AND YOU SET. LOOKING FORWARD TO MAKING BACK THE MONEY IN NO TIME. I DON'T LIKE JET BLACK CAMs. but i can live with that, kinda in LOVE WITH THE GREY AND SILVER OF THE VX2000 & 2100 AND MY AG 456s.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for price
By The Happy Friar from West Valley, NY on 1/24/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Great Picture Quality, Versatile
Cons:
Complicated To Operate, Flimsy Construction
Best Uses:
Family, Movies/Short Films, Special Events, Sports, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Great camera for the price [...] Shoots nice, people have been impressed by the footage I've shot, works great with my software/hardware.Things to note though:*Ring isn't as responsive as I would of liked*comes with a battery (couldn't find any info on this when searching)*only records slo-mo for 3 seconds (3 seconds stretched to 12 on tape)*many settings buried in the menu'sI got this camera for short films/event shooting and I wouldn't of gotten a cheaper one even with these small quirks I mentioned.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect Camera for the price
By MaxTransfer7Verified Reviewer from South Florida on 1/18/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Comfortable to Operate, Durable, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound, Versatile
Cons:
Shoulder pad is very stif, Useless Slow Mo
Best Uses:
Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

The HD1000 is a solidly made camera, is not the “retro shoulder mount VHS looking plastic camera” described by critics. It feels hefty and is made of high impact ABS plastic. Following the tradition of Sony it has a very appealing look. Any non connoisseur will immediately recognized the HD style by the lens shade and the black color. Since shoulder mount was a definite necessity for my business this proved an excellent choice. Although very well balanced on the shoulder the shoulder pad needs to be adjusted to your needs to be able to balance the weight, the camera tends to be a bit front heavy but nothing like the Canon XL2 which made my right arm grow larger than my left. Contrary to opinions I had no problems with the hybrid LCD menus or focusing with the EVF and found it comfortable even in low light. As an amateur event videographer I’m yet to find a perfect camera for low light conditions (within my pocket’s reach) so I was not expecting much and as such I’m always depending on my trusty custom on board light that possesses a 10, 20 and 30 watts bulb. I have no problem convincing anyone for the need of extra lights even stubborn “Bridezzilas” and clergymen. As mentioned before I’ve used the Cannon Xl1s and the Xl2, also the Sony HVR-A1U and the HDR-HC1, although the HD 1000 cannot give you the rich colors of the Canon Xl2, or the manual choices of the A1U, the HD footage when down converted gives you better definition than the XL2 . The definition is exactly the same as the HVR-A1U. The lack of XLR can be remedied by the acquisition of the XLR adapter and a better quality shotgun mike. The main reason I acquired this camera was because the hand held cameras and the front heavy Canon where killing me in long takes where tripods where not feasible. I used the dreaded camera mounts but they were also prohibited in some instances. At no time I got this camera because it “looked” professional, In my part time business I deal with people on a one on one basis and the professionalism is established by the way I conduct myself but, then again the looks of the camera do help. I shot my 1st wedding in 1968 with a Bell and Howell model 306, today I still do the same thing, making any camera work for me, for my needs and within the limits of my budget.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding for the money
By Sparky from Merlin, OR on 1/15/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Exceptional Value, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Spot-on color, Touch screen
Cons:
Features buried in menus, Flimsy Construction, No separate battery charg
Best Uses:
Corporate Productions, Non-Profit, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

An outstanding camera for the money. In fact, not all that long ago unattainable at any price. Color and image quality are simply outstanding. Its painfully obvious money was saved on the packaging (plastic mic., camera case and awkward connector covers). I also don't appreciate the lack of a separate charger especially in light of its market positioning toward wedding and corporate videographers who might like to be charging a battery while operating from another. The flip up LCD is outstanding in resolution and usability while unfortunately the viewfinder LCD is very pixelized and not very good resolution. But that is all minor compared to the simply stunning picture for the money. Even the still shots are just amazing. The camera is also well balanced and the touch screen is an welcome feature. If you are a semi-pro looking for outstanding quality at an affordable price this is it. The physical size and appearance also suggest a professional demeanor to the average onlooker.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Finally.... Well Done!!
By John K from British Columbia - Canada on 1/8/2008

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

Well Done Sony.... Well Done B&H!!!I looked forward to this day for 40 years in the business. Ours arrived today. Had it working for a living for itself within three hours.Incredible image quality for the price. More than sufficient for our broadcast productions (that's all we do).We're ordering more units right away. Forest Gump said it best That's all I've got to say about that.All I can say about any potentially negative comments is Get a life.... what do you expect for sixteen hundred bucks

Expertise: 40+ years in broadcast industry

Problems Encountered: We'll live with them and work around them, if there are any.

Previous Equivalent Item Owned: Most HDV equipment from major manufacturers.

Items I Recommend: The advertised BH kit for $2,000

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pretty good camera for the money
By Veli from Milwaukee WI on 1/7/2008

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

I purchased one of these as soon as they came in. The camera seems pretty sleek and nicely designed. It fits pretty good on my shoulder and gives you some really nice options. HD feature of this camera is definatelly a plus even though I'll probable take a while until computer technology catches up with speed and HD DVDs and Blue Ray discs go down in price. This seems to be a really good camcorder for a professional look and for the money.Cons:It would have been really nice if this camera came in with a remote and shoulder strap.

Expertise: 9/10

Previous Equivalent Item Owned: Panasonic DVC20

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect camera and perfect price The best ...
By FILMLEM from LOS ANGELES on 1/5/2008

Comments about Sony HVR-HD1000U Digital High Definition HDV Camcorder:

The best camera under $2000 USD the design like pro and the features are unbelievable , The Sony Always taking care of business for event videography music videos I like it allot less price and more ...to sony mybest regards .

Expertise: DP

Problems Encountered: NO PROBLEMS

Previous Equivalent Item Owned: DSR 400

Items I Recommend: long Battery p 970

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2009 B&H Photo Video All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.