Spitfire Audio Samuel Sims Chrysalis - Atmospheric Sample Library (Download)

Spitfire Audio Samuel Sims Chrysalis - Atmospheric Sample Library (Download)

Spitfire Audio Samuel Sims Chrysalis - Atmospheric Sample Library (Download)

B&H # SPSSC MFR # 12-41606
Spitfire Audio Samuel Sims Chrysalis - Atmospheric Sample Library (Download)

Show MoreLess


Now Viewing:

No Longer Available

Product Highlights

  • Deep-Sampled Studio Harp
  • Additional Playing Techniques
  • Use of FX Pedals
  • 176 Sounds
  • Mercury Synth
  • 7,230 Samples
  • 30.5GB Uncompressed Sample Data
  • Requires Full Version of KONTAKT 5
  • Mac OS X, Windows
Show moreShow less
  • 1Description

Samuel Sims Chrysalis from Spitfire Audio is a sampled library of unique sounds created by harpist and composer Samuel Sim and the studio harp. The aim of the library was to create something that could be used like a piano, but wasn't a piano; that projected like a harp, but didn't have the classical baggage; that played like a guitar, but without the folky, geocentric, or ethnic connotation. To that end, techniques such as bending strings beyond comprehension in order to bow adjacent strings, or playing the harp through FX pedals and into a Marshall JCM800 amplifier were utilized.

To help realize additional sounds and textures, the company's interface sports several unique sections. The Ostinatum is not quite an arpeggiator, nor a sequencer, but a device that allows for building complex patterns dependent on what's being played. The results can be tantalizing tension beds, or "cheeky" multi-tonguing effects. The Mercury Synth is the front-end interface for the library, with assignable controls that can be mapped to a user's control surface. The interface provides the ability to make custom sounds without having to delve into the complexities of the underlying KONTAKT engine.

A full version of KONTAKT 5 is required to utilize this sample library.

176 hand-sculpted sounds organized into four categories, from an intimate harp to a warped organic masterpiece
"Initial Pupae" contains the pure harp sound, deep-sampled with six different microphone options – the typical plucked harp sound normale, as well as a selection of atypical articulations, including all the strings resonating from a cello bow
"Nympha Pedals" contains sounds created by amplifying the live harp through a multitude of pedals and into a Marshall JCM800 with each sound having four signals for blending between the pure sound of the harp and the soundscapes emanating from the amplifier, with different options for each
"Metamorphosis Warps" features twenty-three different sounds, each with a single pluck and tremolo option, and each having two signals, combining the harp with an affected other
"The Cocoonase" features one-hundred sounds of luscious pads and ambience, again with two signals between the pure and the impure signal
Table of Contents
  • 1Description
System Requirements Full version of Native Instruments's KONTAKT 5 for Mac OS X or Windows (not included)
31.8 GB hard drive space required during install
15.9 GB hard drive space required
Be the first to review this item