New! Video Chat Connect with a Photography Expert – Live

Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM Lens

BH #CA247028LII • MFR #5175B002
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM Lens
Key Features
  • EF-Mount Lens/Full-Frame Format
  • Aperture Range: f/2.8 to f/22
  • One Super UD Element, Two UD Elements
  • Three Aspherical Elements
Spanning a popular and versatile range of focal lengths, the EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM is a Canon L-series zoom commonly thought of as the workhorse of lenses. Ranging from wide-angle to portrait length, this lens is also distinguished by its constant f/2.8 maximum aperture to benefit working in difficult lighting conditions and to afford greater control over depth of field. The lens is also characterized by its sophisticated optical design, which includes one Super UD element and two UD elements, which reduce color fringing and chromatic aberrations in order to realize a high degree of color accuracy and clarity. Three aspherical elements are also featured, and minimize distortion and spherical aberrations for improved sharpness. Additionally, a Super Spectra coating has been applied to individual elements to control flare and ghosting for high contrast and neutral color fidelity.
In Stock
$1,899.00
$159/mo. suggested payments
with 12 Mos. Promo Financing* 
Protect your Gear
Add a protection plan from $119.99
Trade in your gear for cash: Learn more

True Know-How

Ask Our Experts

800.606.6969
See any errors on this page? Let us know

YOUR RECENTLY VIEWED ITEMS

What is your opinion on using this lens for ...

What is your opinion on using this lens for indoor sports? Then 70-200 seems too close when we are court side with vollyball.
Asked by: W
It is an excellent choice for that.
Answered by: Luis L
Date published: 2021-01-12

question

How steady is this lens without built in stabilization?
Asked by: Anonymous
This lens will perform well.
Answered by: Heather S.
Date published: 2018-08-28

question

What country did it make? USA or Japan?
Asked by: Kenny L.
According to the information we have, our current inventory's Country of Origin is Japan. Please be aware this can change over the product's production life without notice.
Answered by: Heather S.
Date published: 2018-08-28

question

Will this lens work with the Ursa Mini?
Asked by: Anonymous
It will work only with the EF mount Ursa Mini, it will work with the PL mount.
Answered by: Peter F.
Date published: 2018-08-28

Can I place this order with 2 or 3 credit cards?

Can I place this order with 2 or 3 credit cards?
Asked by: Dino
Yes. B&H takes muliple credit cards in paymrnt.
Answered by: Gary
Date published: 2020-06-24

question

What does Carepak plus mean? Is it an extra warranty?
Asked by: John W.
CarePack gives a 13 month damage protection and priority service from Canon.This is a link to the specifics http://bhpho.to/1GqGOEh.
Answered by: Robert K.
Date published: 2018-08-28

Is this a second generation lens?

Is this a second generation lens?
Asked by: Anonymous
Yes, hence the roman numeral II.
Answered by: Rob
Date published: 2021-01-12

question

I'm doing event photography and mostly shoot large group shots. I have read and heard so many good reviews on this lens and i'm really tempted to make a purchase, but my question would be if i really need the F2.8 since i won't be able to use such a shallow DOF apart from taking portraits. Another question would be if shooting hand held under low light conditions using a relatively lower shutter speed(1/60-1/100) will my pictures start to show camera shake due to the lack of Canon's Image Stabilisation feature?
Asked by: Gates L.
The lens is superb. I also had the prior version and the MKII is noticeably better. I don't shoot at f/2.8 very often myself but I consider it a necessity in any event to sometimes isolate a subject from the background. I used to shoot at f/2.8 hand held on my 70-200mm first generation with stabilization for night football. I was shooting with a 7D at ISO 6400, With a little noise reduction in Lightroom, I got files suitable for printing in our local, weekly newspaper. I now shoot a 5D MKIII and I love the results that I get with the 24-70 MKIIYou seem to know the normal rule for camera shake. The rule of thumb is a shutter speed of 1/focal length or faster. In other words at 70mm you need 1/70 or faster. At 24mm you need 1/24 or faster. That is with a full frame camera. If you have a crop body use the effective focal length. I also don't hand hold very often, I shoot principally landscape and nature off a tripod. The lens is big and heavy. I think Canon did not want to make it heavier with stabilization. I don't know anything about the EF 24-70 f/4L. That may be an option if you don't need the extra stop.
Answered by: Douglas L.
Date published: 2019-11-10
  • y_2021, m_12, d_1, h_19CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_132
  • loc_en_US, sid_843008, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HAS_STAFF_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bhphotovideo
036

Close

Close

Close