tdwuvvybayurzuvftvtvtd

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
SonyVario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens
 
4.6

(based on 120 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (86)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (26)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (5)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (1)

93%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Lightweight (50)
  • Fast / accurate auto-focus (37)
  • Durable (32)
  • Consistent output (27)
  • Easily interchangeable (25)

Cons

  • Poor in low light (5)
  • Heavy (4)

Best Uses

  • Landscape/scenery (35)
  • Everyday (27)
  • Travel (26)
  • Landscape photography (21)
  • Portraits (21)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Photo enthusiast (34), Enthusiast (17), Semi-professional (9), Professional (6), Semi-pro photographer (5)
    • Was this a gift?:
    • No (74)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

The missing link

This is just the lens I've been waiting for for my Nex7. It takes that camera to the next level in terms of usefulness for landscape photography. I would buy it just for the...Read complete review

This is just the lens I've been waiting for for my Nex7. It takes that camera to the next level in terms of usefulness for landscape photography. I would buy it just for the extended range over the kit lens, but when you throw in that it's better quality overall that clinches it.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Not worth the money

I had high hopes for this lens, but ultimately it was a huge let down. It's unfortunate. The lens is the perfect size, constant aperture, great zoom range, great build quality,...Read complete review

I had high hopes for this lens, but ultimately it was a huge let down. It's unfortunate. The lens is the perfect size, constant aperture, great zoom range, great build quality, etc.... however it's optical performance was less than stellar. Both the left and right edges of the frame were incredibly blurry. I love Sony cameras but the quality control on their lenses makes me rethink my decision to switch from Canon to Sony. I have bought 3 Sony lenses now and they ALL have been decentered, being incredibly blurry on one side of the frame, or both.

Reviewed by 120 customers

Displaying reviews 1-20

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 
5.0

Super lens for the Sony a 6300

By John

from Naples Florida

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

The autofocus is very quick throughout the zoom range. My photos with this lens are tack sharp and the colors are fantastic. At 24 mm or more the built-in flash works fine with no shadow.

 
5.0

Good optical quality.

By Sorin

from undisclosed

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

Quick focus, sharp and great colors.
I will update the review after more work with this lens.

(3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Everything I hoped it would be

By Tom

from undisclosed

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

I have had this lens for a few months now. Purchased it for a trip from Amsterdam to Prague in September. I came home with about 1800 images. This lens is every thing you could want in a small, light weight, travel/walk around lens. Focus was quick and sharp. Color and clarity of the images is spot on. As I work my way through the culling, editing, and organizing process of these images I constantly confirm I made the right choice when I chose this one lens to take on the trip. Coupled with my Sony a6300 camera body it was easy to carry all day and the effective 24 to 105 zoom covered the range I needed.

(6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Very handy and fairly good optical quality

By Paul

from Undisclosed

See all my reviews

Site Member

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

The 16-70 f4 is a perfect walk about lens for the a6000/a6300/a6500. It is small, light, and has pretty good optical quality. While the "zoom with your feet" thing is great for artists, or in ideal shooting conditions, or for the "one perfect prime" crowd -- in reality it is not practical for photo-journalists, street, wedding, and event photogs. In fast moving situations, nothing beats being able to frame the shot accurately and quickly in the viewfinder: you lose no quality by having to crop in post; you don't miss a good shot due to changing a lens at the wrong moment; you'll need three prime lenses to replace this one zoom. However, the trade-off for using this zoom is somewhat lower optical quality. How much this matters in real life is moot. Some commentators say this "German-made" zeiss has to be a great lens. Thee 16-70 is actually a Sony-Zeiss. Zeiss now outsources a lot of its production to licensed suppliers in Asia (the cost of making anything in Europe cuts heavily into the profit margin). My copy has "made in Thailand" on it. I do have a "real" zeiss, the all-manual all-metal Loxia 21 f2.8, which is a beautiful gem of a lens. And it has "made in Japan" on it. I love my zeiss 21 prime, but find it impractical for fast moving shooting like photojournalism. I understand, however, that Zeiss still makes some of its top lenses in Germany. Finally, this lens is too expensive for a good, but not stellar, mid-range zoom.

 
5.0

great lens!

By 007west

from la, ca

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

very pleased and exceeded my expectations!!!!!!!

(7 of 9 customers found this review helpful)

 
3.0

Not worth the premium price

By Firelion

from Undisclosed

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

I bought the Sony 16-70mm with the Zeiss mark with high expectations. When it arrived I could not wait to open the box to test it. So sad to find out that it's really not appreciably sharper than my kit lens of 18-55mm. The extra 2mm at the wide end and 15mm at the long end do not really justify the 4x price. So I returned it.
My camera is an A6000. Now Sony has just released the A6500 which really makes my mouth water. But without a decent zoom lens, what's the point of upgrading?
I hope Sony and Zeiss will come out with a zoom lens for e-mount that truly justifies their cameras.

(4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

So far, so good

By Eric

from Chicago, IL

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

This is an initial review of this lens. I bought it for another camera that I do not yet own. I have the Sony a6000, and love it. Unfortunately (or fortunately) my teenage son has taken quite a liking to photography and has been using my a6000 just about all the time these days (as he is taking a photography class in school). So I planned to get the a6300 and another zoom lens for myself. I have the Sony G series 4/18-105 on my a6000 and it is very nice and gives me the range for a single lens when traveling. But it made no sense to me to get another copy of that lens. Of course, as one knows, there is not a very wide variety of lenses for the a6000/a6300 cameras. Despite mixed reviews (that may result from quality control issues) I decided to spring for the Sony/Zeiss 4/16-70 when it was selling for $100 off. Still not at all cheap, at least for me and my level of use. During the time I was getting the 4/16-70 the reports and early reviews of the a6500 started to appear, and I decided to wait until I could get more information on the a6500 before getting myself a new camera body. So, I have only had limited experience with the lens on my a6000. What I can say is that, if there are issues related to quality control, then I got a good copy of the lens. I don't pixel peep, but I do think it is a little sharper than the 4/18-105 and the colors are more of what my eyes see. I suppose this is what they mean about Zeiss optics. So, initially, I am very happy with this lens. But, for the price difference between the 4/18-105 and this 4/16-70, I could not recommend getting it over the 4/18-105 unless money is no object--esp. as the range on the 4/18-105 makes it much more of a single lens option for the camera. I still do recommend it with reservations, however, as it is a very good lens.

Once I get either the 6300 or 6500 body, I will do some more in depth testing and report back if my opinion changes significantly in either direction.

(2 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

grate lens

By Stoi

from New Jersey

Verified Buyer
Staff Reviewer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

I am using this lens on A7s mark II and A6300. Works perfect in both cameras.

 
5.0

Great little Lens

By Horns00

from San Jose

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

This is a great lens for the crop sensor Sony. Very sharp images.

(11 of 11 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

A pleasant Surprise

By Greg

from Northwest Indiana

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

I have a Sony A6000. I had read that this lens is a definite improvement over the 16-50 MM lens that came with the camera. So I thought I would try it. From the first photos I took, it was evident that this lens is sharp. Yes, it is sharper, and the comparison is not even close. The pleasant surprise was the improvement in color rendition. I did not expect to see such vibrant colors. I have taken photos across the zoom spectrum and to me, it is just as sharp at 16 mm as it is at 70 mm, with everything in between. Quite satisfied.

(0 of 5 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Great lens, sharp & super fast focus

By Dima

from Israel

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

Been using it for a month

(4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Great lens for my A6300

By Bob F.

from New Jersey

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

I'm still experimenting this lens, but so far I find the images to be sharp - - with a lot of "pop" to them. It mates nicely with the A6300. Nice balance and feel in my hands. My other lens is a Sony 18-200 SEL. Over the 18-70 range the photos using the Vario-Tessar 16-70 are superior to the 18-200 as expected. Overall very pleased with the 16-70. Actual rating is a 4.5. Couldn't give it a 5 because no lens is perfect. Room for improvement: Reduction in price (kind of pricey for a lens in the range). F 2.8 or F3.5.

(7 of 7 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

I got a good one

By CT_Photos

from CT

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

The Sony/Zeiss 16-70 mm F4 APS-C E-mount lens sits in the sweet spot of walk around lenses. I have captured many good photos using Sony's 35 mm and 50 mm prime lenses with my Sony A6300. But there is a limit to zooming with your feet. In addition, a zoom lens enhances the video capture experience.

The reviews on the Web for the 16-70 mm Zeiss are good except for those who get very bad lenses. These unfortunate souls return these duds over and over only to receive a lens that is no better. Even Alibaba fared better. One would think that a $1,000 German made lens would have a very low out-of-box failure rate. Getting a dud was my greatest fear in buying this lens. I put this lens through very vigorous field trials to identify flaws. I am not a pixel peeper. But in hundreds of combinations of F stop and focal length, I could not find an obvious flaw. By flaw, I mean the de-centering defect many reviewers have seen.

I performed side by-side tests against my primes and I believe my Zeiss zoom lens is a good one – a keeper. Color saturation is just as good as with my primes. Maybe a tad bit less sharp.

My first experience with my Sony camera was with the kit lens: the 16-50 mm zoom. In those early days, I took a lot of fuzzy pictures with murky colors. There was a lot of disappointment with the lousy kit lens and I finally moved onto primes. The Zeiss zoom lens will astound those moving from the kit lens. The pictures and videos are so much better. Yes, it will cost you money.

(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

 
3.0

cautious about this lens.

By camera-in-hand

from New York

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

I really wanted to love this lens. It seemed the perfect choice to avoid always traveling with multiple lens. It looked quite good on the initial tests, but after I took it outside (into the real world) I began getting confusing results. At some focal lengths and apertures it looked just fine. (Perhaps not brilliant but more than adequate.) At other setting the results were unacceptable. When I reviewed the full record I decided to send it back. Perhaps it was this particular lens and another copy would be better, but I'm calling it quits at the moment.

 
5.0

Solid lens for everyday use

By Dave James

from Denver, CO

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

I bought this lens for my a6000 as an alternative to the kit 16-50mm lens. The kit lens is fine, but it takes the small form-factor of the a6000 just a little too far for me. The Zeiss 16-70mm adds just enough bulk, and it now fits perfectly in my formerly full-sized DSLR filled hands.

Image quality is great, and the focal range is good for 90% of what I shoot (70-200mm f/4 takes care of the rest). Build quality is what you would expect from a Zeiss branded lens. Some sort of way to disable AF on the lens would be handy, but that would take away from the clean look & feel. It's a little pricey, but I think you get what you pay for.

(7 of 9 customers found this review helpful)

 
3.0

Disappointing

By bigbeartom

from Camarillo, CA

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

I bought this lens to replace the kit lens, the Sony 16-50mm. The good news is that in the center of the lens it is excellent but the bad news is as you go to the sides the sharpness drops off pretty rapidly. Comparing the two lenses the Zeiss is very expensive and in my opinion not worth the price. The Sony kit lens isn't quite as sharp as the Zeiss lens but is smooth all the way to the edge and it is a fraction of the cost of the Zeiss lens.
I sent the Zeiss lens back and got back my Sony 16-50mm lens and bought two Sigma lenses, the 19mm prime and the 30mm prime. Both these lenses are sharper that the Zeiss lens and also are a steal at the price. I use the Sony 16-50mm most of the time but when I want a really sharp lens I use one of the Sigmas. The 19mm more that the 30mm as the kit lens is quite sharp at 30-50mm.

(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Very Nice Lens

By Tee

from Northern California

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

A very compact lens that is great for everyday walk around shooting. It is sharp,and focus very fast. A well built good quality. Nice size and not to heavy.

(11 of 11 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Can't find any flaws.

By Paul

from Undisclosed

Site Member

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

Before buying this lens (for the Sony A6300 for a trip to Santa Fe, NM), I read many different reviews on a few different sites.  There are a number of reviews that talk about softness at the edges.

I am not a pro and I am not scrutinizing my photos at 100% and the only place my photos are likely to appear are on the walls of my house.  From that perspective, this lens is fantastic.

The lens is well constructed and the size is perfect -- I think it makes a great companion to the Sony A6300.  Focus is snappy and I am not seeing any of that softness at the edges.  Perhaps I got a good copy?  Perhaps I'm just not digging into the pixels enough?

My suggestion... Go for it.  Give it a shot (no pun intended) and see how it works for you.  I really hesitated (due to the reviews), but am quite glad that I decided to purchase this lens.  It'll be the only lens on the A6300.

(3 of 3 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Beautiful Lense

By Cliff

from Dallas, TX

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

Very sharp and fast focusing
I was looking for an all around lense for Sony A6300, this fits the bill
Lightweight and a quality lense

(6 of 6 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Love the 70mm f/4 lens by Zeiss!

By mattdotgarcia

from Costa Mesa, CA

Verified Buyer

Comments about Sony Vario-Tessar T* E 16-70mm f/4 ZA OSS Lens:

I use the lens for mostly portrait and landscape shots. The zoom is really great and adds to the experience of the lens without a doubt! Something I've noticed is that my ability to take shots of people with the sun or sunset shining behind them has grown exponentially- I can get a much more crisp shot and can zoom without compromising on quality. Great get!

Displaying reviews 1-20

Back to top

Previous | Next »