eryzxurdbczyuxwrrtduwurwcecxr

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
GlidecamHD4000 Stabilizer System
 
4.5

(based on 215 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (138)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (58)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (13)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (4)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (2)

96%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Professional quality (163)
  • Improves performance (151)
  • Easy to use (90)
  • Compact (76)
  • Highly compatible (74)

Cons

  • Heavy (20)
  • Pricey / poor value (9)
  • Limited compatibility (7)
  • Lacks functionality (6)
  • Poor performance (4)

Best Uses

  • Independent films (150)
  • Complex projects (109)
  • In the studio (54)
  • Home movies (43)
  • Weddings (17)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Professional artist (91), Business owner (89), Enthusiast (34), Film student (23), Videographer (4)
    • Was this a gift?:
    • No (163), Yes (3)

Most Liked Positive Review

 

Intents and Purposes

I bought this unit as part of a package (Smooth Shooter), with pretty much no intention of using it as hand held. That said, before you can vest this sled, you must...Read complete review

I bought this unit as part of a package (Smooth Shooter), with pretty much no intention of using it as hand held. That said, before you can vest this sled, you must assemble and balance, etc.
I found this very easy to do. I planned my set up ahead of time, so I knew my weight would exceed "my limits" for this product by it self.
I balanced it firstly to get a feel for it with just my DVX100. I have read about the net that users have found the instructions confusing or in-concise. I didn't read anything in the manual until I had the unit assembled and ready to mount and balance. That said again, I am no genius or anything, but, if you lay out everything, it is pretty straight forward.
Get it out of your head right away that any product like this is plug and play. It is NOT! You will have to tweak to YOUR liking. I think that is where users confusion comes to play. Everything in the manual is a stepping point. Of all the different cameras and accs., no one can instruct one to put to play any kind of sound instruction as to how to do this or that. Use the instructions as reference only. It gives you concise info in regards to how to ready this gear for your gear.
If you have seen the videos of a properly balanced rig, it is possible, and is easy, just don't expect this out of the box.
If you are planning to use this with a small set-up, it is fine, especially for quick 6-12 second shots.
For what I do, I cannot recommend this alone. But, it is a very able tool, and if your intention is to isolate shake with a light rig, this will do it. The adjustable -slash- quick release plate alone is worth the price.
Like I said, I use this with a vest (because my gear is too heavy), so as far as with lighter gear, worth every penny.
With that in mind, plot out what your uses are, because in the end, like myself, you may need more than just the HD4000.

VS

Most Liked Negative Review

 

Too heavy 5D Mark 2, Glidecam 2000 beter

Using my heaviest lens the 24-70mm 2.8L it is still just barely enough weight for the Glidecam 4000 to carry,

If I use my Canon 35mm 1.4mm the Glidecam 4000...Read complete revieweryzxurdbczyuxwrrtduwurwcecxr

Using my heaviest lens the 24-70mm 2.8L it is still just barely enough weight for the Glidecam 4000 to carry,

If I use my Canon 35mm 1.4mm the Glidecam 4000 will not even balance (Balance as in the counterweight at the bottom as intended, instead the rod floats sideways) Unless almost fully extended which makes it quite a huge non compact rig,

The design is the exact same as the Glidecam 2000, very sturdy and of a quality build but bigger, the only time it is best balanced is when using the extra weight plate (12.7 oz/ 360g).

I like to brag about being able to take 2 minute long smooth shots with the Glidecam 2000 the company I work for owns, I only ordered the Glidecam 4000 thinking it would only be better and because of some misleading advice from some forums,

If you have a 5D mark 2 and your heaviest lens isn't more than the 24-70mm which is 805 g (28.4 oz), The Glidecam 2000 is perfect for your needs and more than you need, the Glidecam 4000 is too large a rig and after a 20 second shot I had an agitated sore upper back the next day, strained a muscle, bearing in mind I take two minute smooth straight continuous shots on the Glidecam 2000, and am able to do so again with a short break in between, the 2000 is the perfect compact rig for the 5dmark2, even with a rode mic. (5d mark 2 = 810g / 28.5719 oz body only)
Plus I have a muscular physique to behold, so the 4000 is simply too heavy and not realistic for my shooting environment and requirement.

The one other ability that is lost with this rig against the Glidecam 2000 is my ability to move from the left side of my body to the right side, with the Glidecam 4000 the tail is simply too long and always bumps my pelvis, whereas the Glidecam 2000 is a perfectly compact size.

So this product is definitely solid but not for me and I will stick with the Glidecam 2000 which I have been using for very long time with great experiences and shots obtained.

Trusting this review helped, y'all have yourselves a fine day
;D ting*

Reviewed by 215 customers

Displaying reviews 1-20

Back to top

Previous | Next »

 
4.0

Good but came with a few scratches

By Sanjith

from Undisclosed

Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

There were visible marks on the glidecam probably due to shipping. Tiny scratches also spotted. Overall a good product.

 
5.0

Great product for the price

By Thomas

from undisclosed

Verified Buyer

Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

Solid feeling and easy to operate, the HD4000 was exactly what I was looking for at the price point I was in. Used with my c100mkii, it can be a bit tricky to get fluid motion, but all that's required is a bit of practice.

 
4.0

works as advertised

By Bart

from Ogden Utah

Verified Buyer

Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

only drawback I have is the handle, could be more ergonomic in design since holding the stabilizer unaided is fatiguing.

(2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

 
4.0

Get excellent shots with BMCC

By arslan

from pakistan

Verified Reviewer

Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

Initially it seemed very expensive, and ofcourse heavy with BMCC, but the footage came out to be super good. I wouldnt recommend anything cheaper and smaller for BMCC handling. I have given it 4 star cuz of its price, but overall an excellent investment

 
5.0

Not Easy to Balance

By BSim

from Los Angeles

Verified Buyer

Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

Once you balance with your equipment it balances beautifully. Takes practice. Using Canon C100 with shotgun mic.

 
5.0

just what I need

By Tric

from Bloomington CA

About Me Professional Artist

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Compact Design
  • Easy To Use
  • Highly Compatible
  • Improves Performance
  • Lightweight
  • Professional Quality

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Complex Projects
    • Independent Films

    Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

    I wish I had gotten the HD 4000 much sooner!

    • Was this a gift?:
    • No
     
    5.0

    Easier Then I Expected

    By Orhun

    from Seattle WA

    About Me Business Owner

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • Easy To Use
    • Improves Performance

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Independent Films

      Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

      This is my first glidecam purchase and i am very happy with it. Setup and finding a balance point was super easy. I use 5DM3 and 16x35mm lens most of the time.

      HIGHLY RECOMMEND GETTING AN QUICK RELEASE PLATE. I originally bought the Manfrotto 357 pro but the plate was too big and exchanged it with 577 Rapid connect.

      • Was this a gift?:
      • No
       
      5.0

      Great Wedding Equiptment

      By K-Rod

      from Kansas City, Kansas

      About Me Film Student, Videographer

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Improves Performance
      • Professional Quality
      • Smooth Shots

      Cons

      • Hard to balance
      • Heavy

      Best Uses

      • Independent Films
      • Weddings

      Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

      I bought this to use for filming weddings and it works great! It makes for a super smooth shot. Easy to use. Only downside is that it is a little difficult to first balance.

      • Was this a gift?:
      • No
       
      5.0

      Awesome Piece of Gear!

      By ChrisV

      from Dallas, TX

      About Me Business Owner, Wedding filmmaker

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Compact Design
      • Easy To Use
      • Highly Compatible
      • Improves Performance
      • Lightweight
      • Professional Quality

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Independent Films
        • Weddings

        Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

        This is one of the best stabilizers I have used! And the price is right! Love Glidecam!! This model is the most sturdy. Works well for my Panasonic GH4!

        • Was this a gift?:
        • No
         
        5.0

        Better than chocolate!

        By Emily Bridgebuilder

        from Tallahassee, FL

        About Me Film Student

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Compact Design
        • Easy To Use
        • Lightweight

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • In The Studio

          Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

          Great product - enjoy using it in our Instructional Design Studio.

          • Was this a gift?:
          • No

          (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

           
          3.0

          Might Be Good, But Not for Sony HXR-3

          By Brian

          from Folly Beach, SC

          About Me Hobbyist

          Verified Buyer

          Pros

            Cons

            • Not For Sony Hxr-nx3

            Best Uses

            • Short Shots

            Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

            The product itself seems cool, but it shouldn't be recommend for the Sony HXR-NX3. I purchased this based upon it being listed as an accessory for the Sony HXR-NX3. Additionally, I did an online chat with B&H to confirm suitability. At no point did the topic of handling come up. This glide cam with my Sony is to heavy and cumbersome to be useful for anything more than brief shots.

            • Was this a gift?:
            • No
             
            5.0

            Glide cam

            By Kingvon

            from Shreveport

            Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

            I love the glidecam , you can get amazing shots . Be creative as you want .

             
            5.0

            Awesome

            By RyanBlakeFilms

            from Scottsdale, AZ

            About Me Business Owner, Hobbyist, Professional Artist

            Verified Buyer

            Pros

            • Improves Performance
            • Professional Quality

            Cons

              Best Uses

              • Complex Projects
              • Home Movies
              • Independent Films
              • In The Studio

              Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

              awesome product! can't believe I waited so long to get this.

              • Was this a gift?:
              • No

              (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

               
              5.0

              Works perfect

              By WKS

              from Tampa, FL

              Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

              This is a great purchase investment. I would recommend to any videographer. YouTube and watch many tutorials videos and use daily to get the best experience.

              (0 of 9 customers found this review helpful)

               
              1.0

              Glidecam review

              By Julie

              from San diego

              Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

              Expensive
              Difficult to use
              Big and not handy

              (2 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

               
              5.0

              Top of the Line Stabilizer

              By Runder Treckmet

              from Tricklelimp Falls, CO

              About Me Film Student

              Verified Buyer

              Pros

              • Improves Performance
              • Lightweight
              • Professional Quality

              Cons

              • Less Functional In Cold
              • Limited Compatibility

              Best Uses

              • Complex Projects
              • Independent Films

              Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

              Excellent stabilizing system that works perfectly with everything from DSLRs to small cinema cameras such as the C300. Once you spend some time practicing with it, it can truly act as an incredibly powerful tool in your arsenal.

              The unit itself is very light and seems to have a very sturdy construction. It's great for steadicam tracking shots and can even replicated a dolly type feel if a stabilizer is used in post. The only thing that I've noticed to keep in mind is the fact that the rotation joint gets a little less fluid in cold conditions. While this is something to keep in mind if shooting in a cold environment, it is certainly not a reason to stray away from this device and does not make the device unusable in anyway.

              • Was this a gift?:
              • No
               
              5.0

              Must have

              By Jon b

              from California

              Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

              The shots I can get with this are crazy, I love it.A must have for all film makers

              (1 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

               
              5.0

              Great product!

              By AJ Brann

              from Holland MI

              About Me Business Owner

              Verified Buyer

              Pros

              • Improves Performance
              • Professional Quality

              Cons

                Best Uses

                • Complex Projects
                • Independent Films

                Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                I use this for pretty much all my filming projects, had the HD2000 for a long time, but wanted the ability to mount more stuff to the Glidecam, The unit is great! Takes a bit to learn how to use it properly, but once you have it down it hard to imagine shooting without it.

                • Was this a gift?:
                • No

                (4 of 4 customers found this review helpful)

                 
                5.0

                Awesome system

                By drdlbanderuni

                from Winter Haven, FL

                About Me Hobbyist

                Verified Buyer

                Pros

                • Compact Design
                • Easy To Use
                • Highly Compatible
                • Improves Performance
                • Lightweight
                • Professional Quality

                Cons

                  Best Uses

                  • Complex Projects
                  • Home Movies
                  • Independent Films
                  • In The Studio

                  Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                  Be sure to get a 577 quick release plate and a 1-1/2 bolt and some washers to raise it off the plate so you can turn the knob.

                  This thing is amazing. Use it as a monopod or a steadycam

                  • Was this a gift?:
                  • No
                   
                  5.0

                  Great System

                  By Chad B.

                  from Dallas, TX

                  Comments about Glidecam HD4000 Stabilizer System:

                  Still learning how to get the best smooth video out of this but the Glidecam is very well constructed and is a quality product.

                  Displaying reviews 1-20

                  Back to top

                  Previous | Next »