Celestron StarSense Explorer LT 80AZ 80mm f/11 AZ Refractor Telescope

BH #CESSELT80R • MFR #22451
Key Features
  • Use Smartphone App for Star Navigation
  • Follow Directions to Find Great Objects
  • Advanced Precise Alignment Algorithm
  • 80mm f/11 Refractor Optical Tube
With the Celestron StarSense Explorer LT 80AZ 80mm f/11 AZ Refractor Telescope, exploring the wonders of the universe is as simple as 1-2-3:
     1. Dock your smartphone
     2. Launch the StarSense Explorer smartphone app
     3. Observe the moon, planets, stars, and more
In Stock
$229.95
6 Mos. Promo Financing
with the credit card.§ 
or Save the Tax with the credit card. 
Protect Your Gear
Add a protection plan from $36.99
Ask Our Experts
800.606.6969
See any errors on this page? Let us know

Do I need an additional filter to watch bright ...

Do I need an additional filter to watch bright objects like Moon? If yes, what filter should be to order it together with this telescope?
Asked by: Dmitri
Depending on the Moon's phase, especially if the Moon is in a Gibbous or Full phase, the views can be quite bright through a telescope. We recommend Moon filters such as the Celestron Moon Filter Set: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1485308-REG/celestron_94315_moon_filter_set_1_25.html
Answered by: Telescope
Date published: 2022-06-17

What would I need to add my Nikon D800 to this?

What would I need to add my Nikon D800 to this?
Asked by: Anonymous
To attach a Nikon D800 DSLR to the StarSense Explorer LT 80AZ, you will need the Celestron Universal T-Adapter #93625 and the Celestron T-Ring for Nikon camera #93402. Both should be available at B&H Photo.
Answered by: Telescope
Date published: 2022-04-06

Do we have a smartphone attachment to take photos ...

Do we have a smartphone attachment to take photos included? I got ASUS ROG 5s with a very nice camera to use it with this telescope.
Asked by: Dmitri
The Celestron NexYZ 3-Axis Universal Smartphone Adapter #81055 is available separately and can be attached to the StarSense Explorer LT 80AZ's eyepiece so that you can take photos.
Answered by: Telescope
Date published: 2022-06-20

Can this be used for terrestrial viewing as well ...

Can this be used for terrestrial viewing as well (i.e. ships out at sea from the coastline)?
Asked by: Christine
The StarSense Explorer LT 80AZ comes with an Erect Image 90 degree 1.25" diagonal, so the telescope can be used for terrestrial and astronomical viewing.
Answered by: Telescope
Date published: 2022-09-06

I'd like to attach Nikon D7200, what do I need?

I'd like to attach Nikon D7200, what do I need?
Asked by: Dmitri
We do not recommend attaching a DSLR camera to the StarSense Explorer LT 80AZ telescope. The mount wasn't designed for heavy camera attachments and may shake. It is primarily a visual telescope, but you can use a smartphone attachment.
Answered by: Telescope
Date published: 2022-06-28

Can I attach a Nikon D750 to this? If so what are ...

Can I attach a Nikon D750 to this? If so what are the parts I need to add?
Asked by: Bobby
You will need the Celestron SLR Camera Adapter with Integral 2x Barlow Lens BH #CETABL • MFR #93640 and the Celestron T-Ring for Nikon F-Mount Cameras BH #CETRN • MFR #93402 to attach your D750 to the telescope.
Answered by: John
Date published: 2023-01-03

Is it possible to attach my Sony a7r2 to this ...

Is it possible to attach my Sony a7r2 to this telescope for astrophotography? If not what is a reasonable priced telescope I can use?
Asked by: Mike
Yes, it is possible to mount your Sony a7r2 to a StarSense Explorer LT 80AZ.There are T-threads on the rear of the focuser that is accessible when the diagonal is removed. However, adding the #93625 Universal T-Adapter can be beneficial in helping to rotate the camera do the desired position. You will also need the Celestron Sony E-Mount T-Ring #93408 for your camera. In addition to the #93625 T-Adapter, will the customer need a Sony E-Mount T-Ring #93408?
Answered by: Telescope
Date published: 2022-07-14

How good is the 2 year warranty?

How good is the 2 year warranty?
Asked by: Frank
As with most manufactures it covers any manufacture defect that may arrise during thee (2) year period. I does not cover impact or drops.
Answered by: John
Date published: 2023-03-02
  • y_2024, m_2, d_21, h_11CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_8
  • loc_en_US, sid_1540259, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HAS_STAFF_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bhphotovideo